ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — Academics


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
LOREE BUCK - Parent   (Jan 30, 2018)

Academically, with the connection to the College, i feel that the bar is definitely high. The quality of instruction at the high school and college level is exceptional for the high school students. Generally, there is no lack of academic challenge - just sometimes the student is lacking in the verve to step up to the challenge. This year was the first time we experienced a required course that was not offered in the classroom, requiring our child to complete it online, with an offsite instructor. The first term was coming to a close when we finally received an email that there had not been any submissions for almost two months. If it hadn't been for this online course experience, i would have been able to completely agree that ALL of our children would be able to jump off their experience at CHS, fully prepared for their life's next steps. The rating WOULD have been a 9-10, except for this.

View full review

Maria Tunall - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

there’s certainly things that i think will never be used again, but some of it most definilty sets the students up for a seccussful life. being in this setting alone sets you up better for being in a workplace than any other school i’ve attended

View full review

Liam Tieszen - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)

The academics were great. I learned a lot, the workload was balanced and enabled me to challenge myself. There were always those students who would get high 90s and still complain, making the average student not really like them. But all in all the classes were good for us all.

View full review

Emily Alexander - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)

i think the education I've received at CHS is the best education I've ever received. it has explained much more and has even helped me understand and succeed in math more than i ever have. since everyone learns differently, the teachers try to teach every subject in a way that is easy to understand for everyone. they have no problem helping you out by explaining it in a different way. i think this is why i succeeded in my courses. the areas we cover may not be the exact things we need for later in life but they teach you the basics and then cover where you will use them in life. they have christian ethics as a whole other class where they teach you how to continue in life with your faith.

View full review

Chiante Guretzki - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

I believe that CHS has a very high standard in their academics and that it is expected of students to work for excellence in this area. The academic program is strong in its range and accessibility to students. As well as offering the required courses for graduation, there are electives that can be taken to further study in particular areas like creative writing and online or correspondence classes that give students the opportunities to study things like computer science, agriculture and law. The inclusion of a Christian Ethics class which allows students to earn credit while learning about their faith is also crucial to a private Christian school. Another wonderful opportunity and unique privilege that the CHS academics boast is their Briercrest college credit program which allows grade 12 students to take first year college classes, if needed for credit, which often transfer into a later program. I took a first year English class and was happily surprised by how well the academics of CHS and Briercrest College lined up. I did very well in the class due to the way the CHS academics focus on preparing students for higher education. As said before, I think that the Christian Ethics classes could push students more and help them learn to think critically about the Bible and to analyse and grow their faith the way regular courses help to grow academic skills and knowledge. I just found the Christian Ethics classes to not be held to the same level of academic achievement as regular classes which is a pity considering it is a private Christian School and the chapel program and spiritual events program were very well done. From my perspective, the student body benefited from the vigorous academics and responded appropriately by regular study and tutoring. CHS has an impressive tutoring system which employs many people from high school students eager to help younger students, to college students to trusted adults. Tutoring was very common and very helpful when you needed an extra one-on-one boost in a subject. I think the academics of CHS are the least talked about among the students of the things CHS offers. For better or for worse there are many things to be excited about and so academics were rarely a source of conversation I found among the general student body. With my own friend group of course we talked about academics and strove to encourage oneanother and help eachother to meet deadlines and understand assignments. I never witnessed any particular competition in academic achievement as students were more often encouraged to do their best rather than to be the best. I specifically appreciated the way CHS prepared me to write essays, format papers, do proper research, cite sources correctly and generally teach me the rules of grammar and writing organisation. This showed up in a variety of classes and while most used the common MLA format, we were able to also experience the differences between formats in classes like Psychology which uses APA.

View full review

Barbara Potts - Alumnus   (Feb 13, 2018)

Like all highschools I think the academics could have been better. They don't really teach skills that are applicable in real life. I don't understand when students are going to need the math, science, or history they "learn". I can't remember what I learnt in classes. I remember the fun teachers and students and activities we did. As for actual learning I can honestly say I don't remember what I learned.

View full review

Cheryl Hepworth - Parent   (Feb 23, 2018)

A Law and Accounting class would be an asset. But I really feel the academic programs are diverse enough to open many doors of opportunity down the road.

View full review

Rachel Leduc - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

The work that is given to us is at a perfect pace and hardness, it’s nice because no matter what questions they give you on a test or quiz, they are always answers that you will know if you followed along in your reading and listened to the teachings. All the information that I have learnt I know will be very very helpful in the real world later on once I’m graduated and I’m so glad I learnt it here. The work that the teachers give you is always reasonable, and quite easy to work through if you put in the effort to do so. Another thing that I find interesting is they’re late consequences, It’s nice to have clean set rules so that your pushed to get your homework in and not to procrastinate your life away.

View full review

Jaidyn Katzell - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

Most things are new to me this year. I have troubles with learning if the topic is being taught too fast. I think the work is fairly easy for me personally. I am not a math person so math class was pretty hard to get through. I think what I am learning will be useful in life later on. I didn’t learn anything in art class. I didn’t like how the class was ran. The teacher showed what she wanted for the assignment but never explained how she wanted it done. She never explained how to use materials or any techniques. I think that the work load is at a good level and isn’t too hard. The only hard part about it is that the little classes add up which makes it hard to finish all assignments in all classes by the given due date.

View full review

Kyron Hoimyr - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

The strengths of this school lies in the teachers care and love for their students. they genuinely care for you and do what they can for each student to excel. In the areas of paper writing and sciences i felt prepared for university. I felt the transition in the sciences was fluid, university definitely was harder but the foundations from high school enabled me to do transition smoothly. Our instructors did very well at teaching proper format in writing papers which is huge at university. However the drawback was the work load transition was very difficult to adjust to. High school you are told they were preparing you for university but the amount of work was quite different. Maybe high school should have been more difficult if one is to be adequately prepared for university.

View full review

Latricia Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

Caronport High School offers challenging classes and meets the requirements for high school graduation in Saskatchewan. Although there are no Advanced Placement classes, students can enroll in classes at Briercrest College. The only complaint we have is that there are no foreign language classes offered. Caronport High School has strong academics and a positive school climate. We believe that CHS is adequately preparing our son for university.

View full review

Andrea Walker - Parent   (Apr 05, 2018)

The academic program fulfills the academic requirements needed to graduate high school and sets our son on course for a career. There is a variety of courses that are at the level he needs as well as a work experience course that helps him gain life experience in the field that he enjoys. There are not any obvious weaknesses as the High School administration and teachers are continually striving to change and grow as needed to provide outstanding academia. The atmosphere is one of fostering success in classes, responsibility, growth and spiritual growth and practicing their faith.

View full review

Vangie Brown - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

This is the only high school I am familiar with so it is hard to compare, but I believe the my children are receiving a good amount of challenge, combined with adequate encouragement and inspiration to push themselves to do their very best. A weakness of CHS is that the limited amount of students mean that classes are only offered once a year. For my son this meant that he had one semester that was very heavily loaded with challenging classes and no options for spares. However, this is a reality with a small school. The strength of this school is its teachers. They not only are knowledgeable, but they truly care about the students. They are supportive when the students are excelling and struggling. I feel that both my children will be adequately prepared for post-secondary education, should they choose that. I am concerned that the school is considering using the 4 point grading system. I strongly feel that grading with percentages encourages students to try to excel, whereas grading on a 4 point system will diminish motivation. PLEASE do not changed over to this type of "de-grading" system!!

View full review

Eden Brown - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

The work that we are given is not to difficult. Although sometimes it can be confusing as to what the teacher actually wants. The teacher need to realize and understand our different strengths and weaknesses and adjust assignments accordingly. Our teachers are very good at coming up with interesting assignments. I find that Mr. Bell does not give us enough time to work on our projects, but he is also very good at understanding that we need more time, so he is kind and adjusts the due date. I think that we are being taught valuable lessons in English and math, and science. I find that we study some topics that are uncomfortable for some students, but the teachers are very understanding and come up with helpful alternatives.

View full review

Maia Fawcett - Student   (Jan 31, 2018)

The work is a perfect inbetween this semester. I've learned a lot already because of that. Yes I believe I am learning useful tools for the future because the teachers make it a priority to teach useful, day to day stuff.

View full review

Debbie Jensen - Parent   (Jan 20, 2018)

I consider the knowledge & passion of the teachers a strength of the academic program. A weakness would be the limited selection of electives (French was one subject that wasn’t offered when my children attended. I’m not sure if it is taught now.) Students are encouraged to reach their full potential academically & they have great support services for students needing extra help or modifications. The atmosphere was warm, inclusive & caring. Both our children who attended were well prepared for post-secondary education.

View full review

LeaAnne Ramer - Parent   (Jan 31, 2018)

This faith based school is highly appreciated by my husband and myself as well as our son attending. The culture of the school is rooted in faith and seeks Christ like action in how they interact with each other and students. While preparing our kids to have a firm foundation in their faith they do not let excellence in acedemics slide by the side. CHS pushes our kids to work hard and I believe sets them up for the next steps past high school.

View full review

Jenaya Langman - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

I find the academics are not too easy or too hard. If you are a student that typically struggles with academics there are options of tutoring available. I find that the teachers are also willing to give students a bit of extra help if needed. I believe the classes will be useful to me later in life. Some classes will be useful in the way that they are interests of mine and are leading me to possible careers, and others such as drama are helpful in the skills that you gain. Drama class has only started within the past week, but I already feel it is pushing me out of my comfort zone (in a safe, healthy way) and I am developing in different related areas of skills. This class also helps students to grow in confidence. That is why I feel that the classes I am taking, and what I am learning is useful.

View full review

Britten Banerjee - Alumnus   (Jan 24, 2018)

Academically it was a good school. Lot's of good teachers that took time to invest in their curriculum. Lack of variety of classes made it difficult to feel inspired at times. No computer classes was a negative but all core classes taught well. Lots of competing between students for grades was good.

View full review

Taylor Doerksen - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

The work challenges me to do and write more than I usually would. Having harder classes helps me to strive for my best even in subjects that I might not be the greatest in. The work is pretty good and it’s not too easy that I don’t have to try. I think some of the classes will be useful especially since in my grade I can take only the classes that I think I will actually need in the future instead of all the electives that I don’t need but am wasting my time on taking. Being able to pick your class is super important to me. Same classes to me are not very helpful like history and English to a certain extent because I already know all I need to know about the English language and I feel like I could be taking other classes to help me be suited more towards my future career

View full review

Mark Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

Opportunities are available for almost anything. The option to take college courses in high is present and a wide range of high school course options with excellent instructors.

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.