ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — Admissions


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Maria Tunall - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

seamless. there is a great program for getting all of the application in, and it was very easy to follow.

View full review

LOREE BUCK - Parent   (Jan 30, 2018)

Our kids went all the way through the schools in this community. The admission process for them seemed straight forward and not stressful. I believe that the experience CHS events have been inspiring even for our kids as they were invited over from the elementary school to spend the day at CHS. The repetitive forms that have been required by the school system for all 13 years of our kids' school career has been the most frustrating part of any admission, not just CHS. I am told that this is not anything that CHS can change. Having a dedicated admissions staff member that knows all there is to know about CHS means that even the kids know who they need to talk to. Also, having several members of the staff community who have had children going through CHS lent a great resource for us and other families exploring this option.

View full review

Liam Tieszen - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)

Admissions were fine, nothing too hard. I say be honest, and if you don't really feel like going, then don't go. It's a lot of money parents pay for their kids, and if all they do is sit in their room playing League of Legends all day, they are wasting their parents money.

View full review

Emily Alexander - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)

the process is laid out seemingly well. there are forms you need to fill out too. i remember having to fill out a form for application to get into the school. it was basic stuff like my name and number, address, why i wanted to go there, and if i had any background in Christianity. my parents had many forms to fill out and sign and send in and i don't remember my mother ever stressing about it. over the phone, the front desk lady was very helpful as to what we had to do to apply. the school does this thing where if you have gone to CHS or Briercrest before you can get scholarship money for college. all you have to do is recommend CHS/Briercrest to a person planning on applying and if they apply, then you get $500 if i remember correctly. my friend was able to get this money because i applied.

View full review

Kyron Hoimyr - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

On registration day my mom just dropped me off and had to go. It was almost overwhelming for a grade 9 student but i feel like the admission teams runs it very well. I had one of the officers aid me in my day. She told me where to go, I had a lot of things that i needed to change in my schedule and without her assistance i would have been in trouble because i would not have known. She defiantly helped in this stressful day. After my first year the rest of registering for classes was a breeze. The rest of the application process seemed quite straight forward, it was just registration day grade 9 that was stressful and i believe they have a great team to aid in this.

View full review

Barbara Potts - Alumnus   (Feb 13, 2018)

Registering for Chs is never hard, their are people willing to help you and answer any questions you might have. The process is fairly easy and I can't complain.

View full review

Chiante Guretzki - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

CHS requires strict student behaviour guidelines during application. There's no tolerance for drugs, sex, or alcohol. There's significant emphasis on putting the spiritual life first by becoming a regular attendee of a church and giving up bad habits and addictions. The application isn't hard. It's best to be honest on it so that the teachers and staff can help serve the students and know what issues or problems a person might have from the beginning rather than trying to hide issues or fears or problems until they become even bigger and solutions are more difficult. As said before the student's success is very important to the CHS staff, so honesty on the application is truly the best policy. I had no issues getting applied or determining whether or not CHS was the right school for me.

View full review

Cheryl Hepworth - Parent   (Feb 23, 2018)

View full review

Rachel Leduc - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

The admissions part or the application part of coming to this school can be stressful because there is so much to do, but I definitely recommend that you do all of the application as soon as possible, don’t leave it because Than you don’t have as much motivation to get it done. But overall it wasn’t really a hassle to get it done. Just make sure that your being 100% honest about who you are, because they admire the different type of people that want to attend this school, they also want to help out as many people as they can. Another suggestion that I have is that you take yours, and you sit in on classes when you can because Than you know what kind of environment it is, and can feel the difference between past schools and this amazing faith filled school.

View full review

Latricia Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

The admissions process seemed to be very easy. The problems we experienced were not with Caronport High School, but with the school that our son previously attended. The admissions officers were very helpful and met with us prior to the school year to give our son a tour of the campus.

View full review

Andrea Walker - Parent   (Apr 05, 2018)

The registration process is set up in a way that helps you sign up for everything that you need. Staff are available and positioned around to help and answer questions. We are able to pay in instalments that helped us budget. The admissions went fairly smoothly and questions were answered.

View full review

Vangie Brown - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

As I recall the admissions process felt very confusing to me. I think there should be one person who would walk you through the whole process. If there were two days each semester that parents could come and be walked through the whole process and have a question and answer thing at the end, that might be helpful. It was good to meet Mrs. Ike so that her face was familiar but I am not sure that I had any idea what to ask her. The admission staff should have a list of commonly asked questions which they take time to answer and walk parents through the whole process of signing kids up for classes and payment plans etc. The Canvas program has always seemed user-unfriendly to me as a parent. The office staff have had to give me a lot of help to use this program. Is there a way to make it more user friendly?

View full review

Eden Brown - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

The admissions process is quite long. There are tons of personal questions that you have to answer. These questions aren't hard but are quite lengthy. The best thing to do is just get them done as quickly as possible. The registering for classes is quite easy, and you can switch or drop them easily as well. If you are planning on applying, apply early and come check out the doors and school and get acquainted with the layout of the school and classes before school starts. Also it would be helpful to come to an 'Experience CHS.' You would get to meet some of the current students, teachers, and see the school. Also when you start school there are lots of teachers, admistrative workers, and EA's that will help you find where your classes are.

View full review

Maia Fawcett - Student   (Jan 31, 2018)

The first time I remember doing lots of paper work and reading hand books and such but the next year wasn't bad at all. Mainly because they already had most of my information so all they had to do was get me to renew my transcript which I did very easily

View full review

Jenaya Langman - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

The admissions process was very straight forward and there was staff to guide you and answer any extra questions you may have. There were forms to be filled out by you (the student) as well as your parents/guardians. Another requirement was to have an academic and a spiritual reference. For the academic reference I asked one of my teachers from the school I was at at the time, and for the spiritual reference I asked one of my youth leaders. I did not come from another private school, so I was a bit surprised that I had to have forms filled out by me, my parents, and two others. It took some time for everyone I previously mentioned to fill out the required information, but it was not a stressful process. There are systems as well as great, helpful staff in place to make sure you know what you need to do and which forms you need to fill out in order to complete the admissions process.

View full review

Debbie Jensen - Parent   (Jan 20, 2018)

The admission process for both our children was relatively simple. The application is moderate in length. Any questions we had were answered in a timely fashion & the advisors were very helpful.

View full review

LeaAnne Ramer - Parent   (Jan 31, 2018)

Admissions is probably my only complaint about the school :) and I'm not really bitter about it but there were far too many forms and endless hoops to go through. The process was a bit confusing and complex.

View full review

Britten Banerjee - Alumnus   (Jan 24, 2018)

From what I recall admissions process was fairly easy if a little long for a high school. It was't very stressful and the administration team was always willing to lend a helping hand.

View full review

Jaidyn Katzell - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

My application process took two weeks. It was very smooth and not very stressful. I liked how there was no procrastinating and no big problems arose when applying for Caronport High School and for dorming. I would suggest to apply early so that you are not rushed for time near the end of the summer or feeling pressured. They were very understanding about the pay plans. I feel like dorm life is way too expensive though. Not many problems arose when I was being registered for Caronport. I like how they walked us through the steps and the communication between my parents and Briercrest was very good and they were very clear in the instruction. There is not much more to say about this question. I don’t know much about how the application went since my parents are the ones who took part in all of it.

View full review

Mark Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

The admissions was as straight forward and as easy as you could ask for. If we had any questions we could contact Tessa and be giving an answer instantly. There was never any confusion like we ran into at other schools.

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.