ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — Extracurriculars


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
LOREE BUCK - Parent   (Jan 30, 2018)

There is no shortage of extra curricular opportunities for students at CHS. Whether artistic, athletic or observer, there are lots of activities to engage in. With the many college level teams that are hosted on the same campus, students can also enjoy watching the next level of play. With a large family, there were times when I moaned about ALL that there was to do in the extracurricular arena, taking the kids back out of the home in the evenings. We did enjoy the sporting events that our kids were part of and appreciated the team building skills that they learned, though. The best and most influential extracurricular activities were the spiritual emphasis weeks. Even when the kids doubted that they would gain anything, they were amazed at the impact they received from the extra focused instruction and appreciated getting to know their leaders in different ways.

View full review

Maria Tunall - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

great variety. something for everyone. if it isn’t here, they will take you to where it is.

View full review

Liam Tieszen - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)

The extra curricular activities were amazing. The teachers took time out of their lives to teach kids sports, music, art, and drama. I specifically loved being on the worship team for my grade 11 year. We had an amazing leader, Kara Harms, who taught us so many valuable lessons. Sadly, in grade 12 we had no one to lead us, thus it wasn't as enjoyable but more stressful.

View full review

Emily Alexander - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)

i was apart of the fine arts club. we got together 1 friday a month usually and ate pizza and showed off our artwork to each other. we also went to art events put on in surrounding areas. i wish the school offered more clubs like culture clubs (languages) and even clubs like cooking clubs or quilting guild clubs. the SLC is a very big club that contributes to many areas of the school, they have even made it into a class credit called leadership. the people in SLC are confident in speaking and leading. not all people are like that though. there are many sports teams that have very good coaches. there is a worship team and there's other extracurriculars like college ballet etc. . in a sense, there is a lot of options for clubs.

View full review

Chiante Guretzki - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

Caronport has extracurricular for every facet of life, and if they don't the staff are more than willing to form new groups and clubs to accommodate different interests. There's a heavy emphasis on sports teams with soccer, football, volleyball, basketball, track, and badminton. These teams were formal teams that worked under a coach and went to tournaments. There's lots of enthusiasm from both the athletes and the fans during games. There are also intramural sports like hockey for students looking for less commitment and more just for fun. The arts boasted many opportunities in all varieties. There's a hip hop dance team, several drama performance opportunities in the high school, but also in partnership with Briercrest College. The choir is quite amazing and practices all year round and then goes on tour during Easter and sings with the College choir at the Briercrest Christmas musical so there is lots of exposure there. During the year there are events like cheesecake cafe which is a talent show/open mic event for people to show their singing or instruments or bands. This event is a huge hit and a lot of fun for participators and the student audience. There is also fine art opportunities. The fine arts club meets throughout the year and often is recruited to do art design and murals around the school building and given gallery space at events like cheesecake cafe to display the art they've been working on throughout the year. Besides art and sports there are international meals hosted by students who prepare food from their cultural backgrounds, there are board game team meetings, I was a part of a pro-life group and there is also many events and ways students are encouraged to volunteer. Going to soup kitchens and old folks homes and hosting Sunday services are just a few of the ways students can volunteer via the school. I found the wide range of activities available to students very encouraging and beneficial to students who come from many backgrounds and have different passions and interests. I loved everything I did extracurricular wise and found that the activities encouraged me to try new things and develop skills that I had interest in as well as bond with people sharing the same passions. One of the best extracurriculars that I participated in was going on a trip to Europe with a group of staff and students. For a year and half we worked together to raise money, learn about the destination and prepared to go to Europe. The experience was incredible. To this date it was the best thing I've ever done and I'm so glad I got to do it through CHS because I likely wouldn't have gone otherwise. The tour program we went with did all the work for us so all we had to do was go and enjoy ourselves. Definitely a highlight to see everything I had been learning about in my classes come to life in such an immersive and cultural experience. There's something for everyone at CHS to do outside of class, and the beauty is how flexible and willing the staff are to try new things and encourage new clubs to form.

View full review

Barbara Potts - Alumnus   (Feb 13, 2018)

At Chs they certainly focus on sports which is fine unless you aren't into sports. The sports are very well organized and host very strong competitors. They do well with this extracurricular.

View full review

Cheryl Hepworth - Parent   (Feb 23, 2018)

View full review

Rachel Leduc - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

Caronport Highschool And Briercrest has amazing Extra-Curricular activities. There’s always some kind of competitive sport going on throughout the school year, as well as Lunch intramurals that everyone can play no matter what your athletic ability is. CHS also has programs like Drama and Choir for those people who lean more towards the music eye of things than the sports and being sweaty. CHS has something for everyone when it comes to extra-curriculars. There is also amazing athletic directors and coaches that lead all of these extra curricular activities. They are always there for you wanting to help you with anything you need. I Definetly wish there was some kind of art club where lots of people just get together to make art, or paint or even just to draw. I believe everyone has enough to do because so many things are offered

View full review

Kyron Hoimyr - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

From an athletic point of view i felt that Caronport high school had many opportunities for students. At this school they arranged for practice time to not interfere with other sports so you could play multiple sports. They really wanted you to be able to participate in as much as you wanted. A lot of my fondest memories are from my time on sport teams. At this school you are also able to be a part of the college's Christmas musical which is a neat opportunity as a high school student to be a part of such a large production. The school encourages students to pursue their interests and it enables students to pursue their interests from sports to arts. Students were instructed to take participial and applied arts classes and these classes whether it was learning to cook or working in the shop, since the school was smaller everyone had the chance to try something new.

View full review

Latricia Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

Caronport High School offers many extracurricular activities: athletics, intramurals, special events, and Christian learning opportunities. There is a balance between competitive activities and activities that are just for fun. The school has a positive atmosphere.

View full review

Andrea Walker - Parent   (Apr 05, 2018)

One of the reasons we moved to Caronport was for our son to be able to participate in the many opportunities the school has to offer. There are a number of extracurricular activities in the arts and sports: choir for credit, track and field, football, drama, photography, basketball, etc. These activities and the leadership within them teach our son the importance of character, godly sportsmanship and using the talents God has given him.

View full review

Vangie Brown - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

For a small school, CHS offers most of the sports. My children are not athletes and yet they have both enjoyed being involved in a number of the different sports programs. I am grateful that, for the most part, CHS coaches for most of the teams do not eliminate players who are wanting to learn to play a sport. Mr. Appleby is such a blessing to the soccer team. The football coaches are spectacular and I am so glad that a majority of the high school guys get to participate in this sport. The basketball program has been a great opportunity for our son to learn more than just basketball skills. The Sr. Boys coach is excellent. The missions trips are awesome and our son loved going to Cuba. The service opportunities are great. Our daughter enjoyed being a part of the vocal ensemble each Christmas. The choir tour is a lot of fun for those involved.

View full review

Eden Brown - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

My school offers a lot of sports. I play soccer and badminton. The coach is the same for both (Mr. Rod Appleby). He is great at not only growing us as athletes, but also as people. The teams are worked hard, but the coachs are not mean or harsh. There is also a local service projects that are available to do with the Chaplin. We can sort bottles and can for a missions trip, clean the mosaic place to support The Jeremiah House, or serve food at riverside mission. We are also offered a Europe trip and a missions trip. My brother went on last year's mission trip to Cuba and really enjoyed it. They also a vocal assemble each year which I have participated in and really enjoyed. I wish they would offer more art focused extracurricular activities. I also wish offered a youth group.

View full review

Maia Fawcett - Student   (Jan 31, 2018)

Yes I take part in a dance team that the school has and bolleyball there. No I really like the activities offered at my school. And yes I believe the students have enough to do with all the amazing extracurricular activities that are offered.

View full review

Debbie Jensen - Parent   (Jan 20, 2018)

Yes, I feel there were (& are) ample extracurricular opportunities for students at CHS, of both a competitive & non-competitive nature. In addition to athletic opportunities, there are also opportunities for students to participate in the arts (such as music & drama). I do believe they provide the right context to develop well-rounded students.

View full review

LeaAnne Ramer - Parent   (Jan 31, 2018)

This school has more extra curricular a than the average school, or at least it seems so with my kid. There never seems to be a moment where he is not involved in something school related :) These opportunities have allowed him to developed firm friendships as well as handle responsibly of team dynamics.

View full review

Jenaya Langman - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

Extracurriculars provide more ways to connect with other students. There area variety of sports teams you can try out for. I found out at an orientation day that the level of commitment when on a sports team, was higher than I had expected or would want. They practice Monday-Thursday, and have games and tournaments on some weekends. The length of the season varies depending on the sport, and the days may change, but that is the approximate level of commitment to expect. If you are wanting to be on a sports team, it is handier to live in town as far as driving goes. Activities such as choir, drama, and a school leadership team are all offered as classes. This may be the same or different than what your previous school experience has been. There is also an extracurricular worship team you can audition for if you are interested. If you have an interest in areas such as drama, music, or dance, there is an annual Briercrest production you could audition for, or with the college there is an orchestra, or there are other opportunities to be involved in plays with something called Summer Stage. Different students have various levels of needs as far as extracurriculars and how many teams or clubs they want to involve themselves in. I think there is also an art and maybe combined with creative writing) club as well. If you want to start a new club you may be able to work it out with a teacher, but it will probably depend on the level of interest whether it happens or not. (I have not myself tried to start a new club). There are lots of extracurriculars that students can be involved in.

View full review

Britten Banerjee - Alumnus   (Jan 24, 2018)

The amount of extra-curricular activities provided by the school and it's leadership council were at times excessive and rarely inspired growth within students personal or otherwise. They often felt very forced and many were absolutely mandatory which was a weird dynamic. " You are forced to be here and have fun".

View full review

Jaidyn Katzell - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

I think that Caronport offers a lot of extra cirricular activities and activities to all the students here. I personally am involved in soccer club here and was in the choir class here in Caronport. I am a very musical person and J wish that were was a band class or band group after schools or something. Music helps me when I’m stressed and I can tell my grades aren’t as good this year and I strongly believe it’s because band isn’t apart of my life anymore. At my old school, robotics class was an option and it opened up many doors for people at my old school. I think that it would be interesting if Caronport could offer the same robotics class.

View full review

Taylor Doerksen - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

I take part in the Briercrest u18s volleyball club and it’s a great opportunity for me. I think that there is a great variety of sports and clubs but there wasn’t a boys varsity volleyball team this year which kinda bummed me out because it was one less team to be able to cheer on. I think that if there was anymore teams it would be over whelming for the school as they would also need to find coaches for those teams also. I don’t do clubs so I don’t know about the art and drama stuff but I’ve heard that there is a vast amount of things available for the people who don’t do sports. More music opportunities like band or something would be a neat addition if you had to try out for it as I know lots of very musical people who would definetly go for that

View full review

Mark Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

The town is small but Moose Jaw is close and depending on the interests there is something for everyone. Students are encourage to be involved and try new things.

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.