ADVERTISEMENT

Review of Briercrest Christian Academy


School Leadership

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
submit a review
LOREE BUCK - Parent   (Jan 30, 2018)
The Vice Principles are almost always around and easy to connect with. The VP's are both extremely involved in the extracurricular activities of the students. I have seen them make decisions that are better for the student than for their respective teams, putting the student at a higher priority than the status of their team. They all strive to create a positive and holistic experience for the student body, and will reach out to learn the needs of some who may not fit into the normal mold. The discipline is consistent and expectations are spelled out clearly in the student handbook and in their student chapels. Not having had much need for discipline for our kids at the school level, leaves me slightly disadvantaged in answering the discipline question. We receive frequent communications (monthly newsletters, and more) from the leadership.
View full review

Britten Banerjee - Alumnus   (Jan 24, 2018)
Strong leadership from individuals in administrative roles was present. They took a very large interest in the student body and their well being. All through it was mostly positive there were those in leadership whom you wouldn’t see except at select times and that gave the impression they didn’t care about their students.
View full review

Chiante Guretzki - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)
The dominant trait of CHS leadership is how much each staff person cared for and personally dealt with any problems or concerns that might come up. I never felt like my concerns or suggestions or questions for the administration went unheard or delegated to someone else. I interacted closely with the principal when working on events and projects for the school like art events or extra curricular events. The administration was greatly respected during my time at CHS and for good reason. Each staff member worked diligently in administrative aspects, but also continued to model the same kind of personal care that the teachers displayed. That being said, the respect was not hierarchical. The [other] students and I never felt as if we had to be serious all the time with the staff. Many bonds were made over jokes and casual conversations which I believe increased the respect of the administration by allowing a personal level of acquaintance to prevail over the usual student and leadership figure roles. The respect went both ways as students were eager to share their achievements and daily conversations with administration as well as set up meetings for concerns and personal growth. The leadership was competent and effective, taking charge of events, but also allowing the student government space and time to work with and among the staff. I always felt safe and listened to when I went to the leadership with problems or issues relating to the school or my own personal education. They have in place many policies and action plans for helping students who are struggling academically or having issues with discipline which personally involve students and then are catered to the specific needs and circumstances of the students. I found communication very effective, often hearing things during school as well as getting reminders and information via email which my parents always got as well.
View full review

Maria Tunall - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)
the teachers being such a positive environment to the school. it’s awesome to see how they relate to one another as well as to the student body. you feel like you have a billion parents cheering you on.
View full review

Liam Tieszen - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)
Mrs. Ike did almost nothing with interacting with the students. I didn't even know she was the principle till half way though the year. The two vice principles were amazing though. Shane and Derek were great role models who were active in the students lives. They were available when someone needed to talk to, and were a great team for the school. The other teachers were great too.
View full review

Emily Alexander - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)
the teachers are all very good role models for the students. they enforce good habits and behavior and really care about the kids. i think they do a good job of offering help and giving help where its needed. they are very understanding to things going on in your life even with the rules staying met. when i hit my head, they were very gracious to me in all i did. personally, i wish i knew more about the teachers and their backgrounds. also, some teachers also give very hard to understand criteria for assignments. it makes a lot of kids ask way more questions. i went to a counselor for my anxiety at the beginning of my first year. i didn't continue on with it because i felt like i couldn't talk to them. they were very kind people but i didn't find their information helpful to use and such.
View full review

Kyron Hoimyr - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)
The schools leadership seemed to be like most leaderships, they planned events, ran for office and did there thing. The main exception was our leadership tried to led the school towards God. I usually enjoyed the chapels where it was SLC led because often our president spoke and it was a neat perspective to hear from someone we had elected. The administration seemed to be fine. The one vice principal had his office on the main hallway and was easily approachable. You could always see what he was doing he was a great guy to talk and joke (respectfully) with. We had other principles and I am sure they did a great job but they were not seen much so they were handling the behind the scenes things more I guess. I think I would have appreciated seeing more of them, even just walking the hallways from time to time. They would make an appearance at chapels but I think their words would have landed better if there was more a relationship with the student body.
View full review

Barbara Potts - Alumnus   (Feb 13, 2018)
Chs is a very no nonsense school, they are strict with their students and mean what they say. If you sign a contract saying you won't drink for example you better not drink. However, this does make everything run smoothly and the SLC works very hard to get the whole school involved with and at events.
View full review

Cheryl Hepworth - Parent   (Feb 23, 2018)
I find them so helpful, compassionate, and really do want the best for the kids. I really appreciate the time they have taken with me to find solutions that are best for my child.
View full review

Rachel Leduc - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)
All the teachers are amazing at what they do, I have never had such down to earth and Jesus like teachers and role models in my life. The teachers here truly care about you and your wellbeing, even when you don’t realize your struggling with a topic or subject, they are already asking you what they can do to help you succeed. The teachers here want to see you grow and succeed as well as go down the path that God has made For us. The EAs are fonominal as well, they respect you, even if your only a teenager, they still give you lots of respect which I believe helps you achieve more. The dean also is amazing, he is genuinely concerned about you and wants to get to know each and everyone of his students and be able to help them in anyway possible.
View full review

Jaidyn Katzell - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)
All staff at CHS is very very supportive. At the public school I recently attended, they didn’t care if you were involved in drugs or swearing a mouthful as you walked down the hallway. I love the environment each teacher provides. It feels safe here. Most teachers open in prayer which allows my nerves to calm and get my mind to focus in class. I respect how the teachers here handle situations. Many situations are handled in a very mature and smooth way. If I could change one thing, it would be that the teachers would use “canvas” more often and update it. Canvas is the school app we use for grades and updates on assignments. Overall, the staff here is positive and very supportive.
View full review

Latricia Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)
The school administration keeps us informed of upcoming events and any concerns. We have been pleased with the timeliness of information.
View full review

Andrea Walker - Parent   (Apr 05, 2018)
The school administration is supportive and cares about each student. We feel that the sense of belonging could have been fostered more. Discipline was handled in a caring and understanding way, however, somewhat stricter boundaries need to be placed on those who are playing the powerful role of instigating problems for others. Communication is effective to parents and students. We have sensed that school leadership with students can often be a popularity contest rather than who would do a good job.
View full review

Vangie Brown - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)
My daughter has enjoyed interacting with the school leadership. She did mention that she finds Mrs. Ike to be a bit impersonal, but feels that Mr. Sowden and Mr. Zacharias know her as a person and care how she is doing. My son has had challenges this year and we have found the school leadership to be very willing to work with us, support our son, and deal with discipline issues wisely and in a timely manner. The school chaplain, Mr. Willems, has made great effort to communicate with us on a number of issues. Also Mr. Gabor, who has communicated with us extensively to help our son succeed in school. I have personally found that Mrs. Ike does not consistently respond to email communication. Either she does not respond in a timely manner, or at all, to my emails. However, I have found her excellent to talk to in person.
View full review

Eden Brown - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)
I really respect the teachers and principals. Mr. Zacharias and Mr. Sowden are very friendly and I know they really care about all of us. Mrs. Ike is friendly, but doesn't seem very interested in getting to know us very well. Mr. Fehr (our guidance counsellor) is always telling us when there are more job opportunities, and is very insightful about the jobs we ask him about. Our principals come and sit in on classes and are very help and easy to talk to about switching classes. I wish that the leadership of our school would interact with each us individually and as a whole more often. I wish also that they would talk to us more and ask how our school and home life is going.
View full review

Maia Fawcett - Student   (Jan 31, 2018)
The staff at caronport high school is amazing! I really enjoy their teachings and I would say I definitely respect them because of that. They are really good at not only caring about your education , but also your personal life. If I ever had a crises of any kind I'm sure I would feel comfortable talking to anyone of my teachers because they are just that supportive.
View full review

Debbie Jensen - Parent   (Jan 20, 2018)
The leadership was strong & communicated information promptly & professionaly. Discipline was fair & redemptive.
View full review

LeaAnne Ramer - Parent   (Jan 31, 2018)
This school is very fair in their discipline. Each case is looked at individually with the students well being taken into account. The leadership truly cares for each student and desires the best for them all.
View full review

Jenaya Langman - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)
I believe the school leadership is great. The staff are available to talk to if you need, and they care about the students' well-being. They all want to keep God at the centre of everything and how the school is structured and run. Their desire to do so is shared with the students near the beginning of the year. I believe the teachers, chaplain, and other staff do really well at being a positive and encouraging presence to the students. That is why I believe the school leadership is really good.
View full review

Taylor Doerksen - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)
The teachers are super kind and funny and they don’t treat every student the same meaning they provide to different needs of each student. It’s super fair and they make class fun instead of it just being a boot camp. They are all different and do class differently instead of it all being the same. They genuienly care for each student that goes to this school and they treat us as equals. They respect us too so it makes it feel more comfortable at school instead of just being a student at a regular school. They involve God in everything they do and are really good examples to those who don’t know much about jesus. Even in sports God is included which has been super huge for me and sports and it’s just something extra that helps us in practice
View full review

Mark Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)
Everyone truly cares about the students and goes out of their way to make people feel welcome and included.
View full review

View reviews by topic



Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.