ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — School Life


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
LOREE BUCK - Parent   (Jan 30, 2018)

Our kids have loved going to school at CHS. For them, having grown up in Caronport, they would have felt like they had been put out to sea if CHS had not been their option. There were brief periods of time when the only thing missing from their school experience at CHS was the dorm life. For most of the years our kids were at CHS, the community group of students outnumbered the dorm group, so this didn't last long. A lot of the extra curricular experiences included all students together. For the most part, our kids didn't feel like they were short changed in their options. I feel like the sporting events, both at the high school and college level were a great way for the dorm students to rub shoulders with the families of Caronport. This community provides a very unique setting for the high school that adds to the care and nurture of all the students. The opportunity to be in the same context as the Bible College students also lends to the amazing atmosphere at CHS.

View full review

Cheryl Hepworth - Parent   (Feb 23, 2018)

My daughter really loves the school. I have 3 other teens that are boarding with us one of the girls is also really loving the school. The other boy in grade 9 and the girl in grade 11 are finding it hard to make friends. All of them including my daughter choose to come home for lunch because there's not enough town kids to have lunch with and they just end up sitting with each other or by themselves for the lunch period. My daughter is part of SLC which is great her lunch hour is shorter but she doesn't mind because of being part of SLC. The other 3 are not in choir or SLC. The dorm kids will of course be a tight knit group because of spending so much time together therefore it makes it harder for these kids to socialize with them. It would be great if the school could somehow allow all of the kids to be in the same place at lunch time.

View full review

Latricia Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

Our son really enjoys going to Caronport High School! He loves living in the dorms and the friends that he has made at CHS. The school has a very positive feel to it. The student body supports one another by attending athletic events.

View full review

Andrea Walker - Parent   (Apr 05, 2018)

There have been times he has enjoyed going, but more times he hasn't. This can possibly be improved in helping students find their sense of belonging, growing into them the importance of their value and self-talk and providing mentors one on one.

View full review

Vangie Brown - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

Our children dislike school. However, they are willing to go to school each day. I think it is mostly interpersonal issues that drive this dissatisfaction. Honestly I think my children would express this no matter what school they attended. I believe we could not ask for better teachers than those at CHS. I believe the leadership at CHS cares a great deal for the students and spends time, above and beyond the call of duty, to make CHS a safe environment, emotionally academically and spiritually, for our young people I think that high school can be a lonely and confusing time of life for kids who have struggles. Most of the kids at CHS have struggles. I think Caronport has an epidemic of bored, struggling kids who grow into lonely struggling adults. No school can solve this problem. This is honestly what I would tell prospective parents: If you are hoping that your struggling teenager will find a safe place at CHS, they will definitely find quality staff that care about them and opportunities to grow academically and spiritually, but unless they are socially and emotionally healthy enough to take these opportunities they may also find trouble. CHS is not free of trouble, it just all depends what your kid is looking for.

View full review

Debbie Jensen - Parent   (Jan 20, 2018)

Both of my children loved their time at CHS. They did well academically with the right amount of support from teachers. They made life-long friends there. I have recommended the school to many people - several have sent their children and have had positive experiences.

View full review

LeaAnne Ramer - Parent   (Jan 31, 2018)

My child loves CHS. He has found a home at this school and looks forward to going to school. I'm honestly not sure what I would suggest for change.

View full review

Mark Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

We had known about CHS and Briercrest forever but never really considered it until we took a tour. We had looked at many different schools and none felt right for my son. The first thing my son said in the car after the tour was “I want to go here!” If it’s an option for sure take a tour and get a feel for the school. My son has been very very happy at CHS.

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.