ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — Students


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
LOREE BUCK - Parent   (Jan 30, 2018)

I would consider the student body to be small in size. But the group can put on a big school atmosphere with their enthusiasm and level of engagement. There is a caring atmosphere in the school, extending from student to student and student to teacher, along with the teacher to student care. Unlike the high school I attended, one doesn't see hall way fights, or hear name calling or other forms of disrespect in the hallways. When a student in the school is known to be dealing with something like illness or crisis, the somber response is indicative of the care the students have for their fellow student. Even though there are many different teams that a CHS student can be involved in, i believe the greater team atmosphere is taught by the teachers and upheld by the student body.

View full review

Cheryl Hepworth - Parent   (Feb 23, 2018)

If the town kids were able to bring their lunch to school and sit in the cafeteria with dorm kids I believe there would be a more inclusive atmosphere and not such a segregation.

View full review

Latricia Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

Caronport High School is a smaller school than the one our son attended in grades 9 - 11. I think that the smaller class size has helped our son to get to know the other students. The atmosphere of the student body seems to be an inclusive and positive one. The students that we have met appear to be very respectful.

View full review

Andrea Walker - Parent   (Apr 05, 2018)

The size of the school is smaller and it has great school spirit. We have found that this is one area that needs much guidance and work in life skills and how God says to love and treat others. The atmosphere can lean towards the popular students leading the school while the weaker or socially awkward ones are left out. There was much talk about others and words were destructive toward our son in this aspect. Accountability and mentorship in students' actions and words is a high need.

View full review

Vangie Brown - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

CHS is a Christian school. Not everyone who attends lives like a Christian. As a parent I have seen that different classes have different "feels" to them. I like the "feel" of my daughters class, but the current Grade 12 class concerns me. I think the biggest problem in Caronport is boredom. I think high school kids have nothing to do during the long cold winters and the community has not reached out to meet this need. There is no youth group, no fun place for the young people to "hang out" and interact with adult supervision. I think "The Den" was supposed to meet this need, but somehow it seems that kids are bored and find things to do that are not good. I know that our children have been quite lonely since we moved here. I do not think this is the responsibility of the school. I think it is a community wide problem that needs to be addressed by the churches. My son's honest opinion about his classmates is that he dislikes most of them. My daughter's honest opinion about her classmates is also pretty negative. I am not sure how to take this... whether the problem is that my kids are negative or that their fellow students leave much to be desired.

View full review

Debbie Jensen - Parent   (Jan 20, 2018)

CHS is a smaller school so the students don’t feel they are just a number. It has a warm, welcoming & caring environment, displayed by both staff & students. I don’t see or perceive any division between students who have different interests, as sometimes happens in other schools (for example where the athletes are the popular students & set a tone of superiority). Generally, I think most students feel accepted or welcome there.

View full review

LeaAnne Ramer - Parent   (Jan 31, 2018)

The student body at CHS is wonderful. Sure it has its ups and downs. Pods of close friends and groups but when push come to shove, this student body stands United and truly have each other a back. Sometimes I wonder if I'm living as a parent with my head in the sand but this student body genuinely appear to care about each other. Maybe it's the smaller size? But they really seem to all get along and accept everyone regardless of differences.

View full review

Mark Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

No one is ever left out and there is always something going on or to do for students.

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.