ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — Students


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Maria Tunall - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

super small town, a greenhouse. a place for intensive growth in all areas - including creativity on the weekends there is nothing to do.

View full review

Emily Alexander - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)

the students at CHS are kind and helpful for the most part. when i first came to dorm, everyone was so nice i thought they were hiding something. it was unbelievable to see a lot of students interacting with each other. there's not particularly any big cliques at CHS. you will find that the talkative people talk to the other social people and there are a few people that are quiet that don't speak to anyone. every school has some kind of bully, but in CHS the bullying isn't noticeable in people when they talk to you. its there but only in some places. just like the bad habits kids. the school is really small compared to bigger sized schools. in CHS there is roughly 150 students. it feels like a small town atmosphere indeed.

View full review

Rachel Leduc - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

The students here are just like all teenagers. There’s bound to be drama no matter where you go, But here it’s different you feel safe, and I definitely didn’t feel as judged coming here. Lots of the students here are very friendly and open minded to new people and want to become your friend. I think that the more outgoing you are the more successful you will be, because you want to try new things, meet new people, go to the school activities. Also when your more outgoing you will make more friends, because your friendly and your inviting. The school atmosphere feels like a town because there is not a lot of kids so when a rumour goes around, everyone hears about it, or even if you do something, the next day everyone’s going to ask you about it, It’s good but bad all at the same time, But still recommend this school 100%

View full review

Eden Brown - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

There are many really kind and friendly students at the school. This year we got a bunch of new boys from the hockey program and they are respectful and nice. We have students from all over the world, so we get to learn about other cultures on a day to day basis. The kind of students who succeed at this school are the ones who pay attention in class, do assignments on time, and ask questions if they are confused. The teachers are very willing to help the student succeed, but the many students here don't try hard at all. Many students rely on others to work hard for them. The students here are quite welcoming it is not hard to find friends. There is very emotional bullying, and no physical bullying between students.

View full review

Maia Fawcett - Student   (Jan 31, 2018)

The students are where we might be having the most trouble. I know lots of people who are really struggling through the year and who can barely wait to get the year over with. Lots of negative attitude goes around also. It feels like a city because it's pretty crazy and intimidating to be around. Lots of people want to be in charge also which doesn't help all the time. The students who do the best at school are the ones who get past their lives and focus on others. I know lots of people that complain and use very sarcastic times and who are just really struggling and even start experimenting with things because they can get past themselves. But those students who are, are doing amazing and are an encouragement to everyone around them. In the school I think there are many standards to meet and expectations so I don't think absolutely everyone feels included.

View full review

Jenaya Langman - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

An interesting thing with this school is that although there are students that have attended Caronport schools for years and know each other well (like you may expect in a small town), there are also new students that enter the school. There are general new students like me who come, or there are students that come specifically for the hockey, or international program which gives a cool opportunity to meet people from around the world. Lots of the students that had been there longer reached out to the newer students to get them plugged in to the school and help us to know where to go. On my first day of school a student invited me to eat lunch in a common area with a group of other students. It was very nice to have someone looking out for me, and including me. I was glad to have people to eat lunch with. I feel that in general, new students are looked after well, and looked out for. At this school, your experience is better when you are wanting to learn more and strengthen your faith. Helping students to grow and strengthen their faith is a main goal at this school, so if you are not wanting to do so, you may struggle more, or just have a less meaningful experience as your journey with God is a focus, and there are chapels as well as a Christian Ethics class that everyone must take part in.

View full review

Jaidyn Katzell - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

I would describe Caronport school as a positive environment. The students are generally happy here and since it is a small town, everyone is connected and it feels like one big family. I find here in Caronport that there is more relationship drama. At my old school, there was more drugs and partying drama but here since not many people are involved in that lifestyle, there seems to be more relationship drama here than at my old school. Since Caronport is a christian school, I feel like people who don’t really know Christ or don’t want a relationship with Him, are the students that struggle the most. At the beginning of the year, I didn’t know Christ and I felt left out. Once I came to knwo Christ and want a relationship with him, my grades got better and I became more involved with everyone and everything.

View full review

Taylor Doerksen - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

The school feels like a cliquey community as there are lots of people who have gone to the school before boarding students so it’s a little harder for boarding students to find a place they belong. It’s more or less like a lot of friend groups instead of everybody including everybody students who try their hardest and do their homework succeed in this school because there are high requirements for us, but still at a reachable level that is attainable. The school feels like a town or smaller since there isn’t very many students at the school. I feel like students who don’t act like they care or don’t try don’t succeed as much as people who do but it’s like that in every school. I think that people who have went to the school longer feel more included but that is too be expected

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.