ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — Teaching


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
LOREE BUCK - Parent   (Jan 30, 2018)

I have always felt that CHS is the equivalent to the higher level of schooling found in special schools in other provinces where high achievers are sent. Our connection and opportunities with Briercrest College and their faculty provides a unique setting that raises the bar. Our teachers ARE passionate about their subjects and want to convey that to their students. My kids didn't always catch the passion, but definitely recognized it in their teachers, and were impressed by it. Our online course management system is used inconsistently across the teacher group and therefore not used to its fullest potential. Some teachers use it to include all upcoming assignments with due dates right at the start of the semester - providing a tool whereby students and parents can plan ahead. Other instructors only put this information into the system after the due date has passed and they are preparing to enter the marks of the completed assignments. Some are reluctant to use due dates at all, because they allow this date to float quite a bit. The inconsistency has caused frustration for some of our kids, and complacency in others about what is expected in the school work. Our kids who were up to the challenge, chose to take college level courses during their high school time. This was very enriching. On the other end of the scale, i felt like the term average was overused, and given as a reason to not explore avenues of assistance/limitations that could be provided.

View full review

Maria Tunall - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

the teachers really do ask a lot, especially when there is full course load students. it sets our school apart as prestigious, but it’s quite a lot to ask especially with extra cricculars. you’re getting next level education, as well as the opportunity to take college classes your graduation year with a discounted price.

View full review

Chiante Guretzki - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

The teachers were absolutely wonderful. The education at CHS is extremely high and it has definitely helped me going forward into college. I have who have gone to other schools and commented on how easy the work is in other schools compared to CHS. The academics were very high level. The teachers and students got along very well in and out of class. In class, most of the dynamic is teacher and student, but there are many moments when the teachers invite students to participate and interact which brings the formality down and allows students to speak up and share their insights. The respect from both parties was evident and humour is not uncommon in classes. The atmosphere the teachers model is one of passionate learning and growing in a way that feels fun and connective to real life as opposed to a stiff facts and figures only type of learning. The teachers all brought different teaching methods to class giving each student and learning style a chance to thrive. If there is ever any issue, teachers are always willing to discuss how they can help solve the issue or help the student troubleshoot the problem. The teachers were knowledgeable in their subjects and often would do further research if they were unsure of something a student inquired about and return to the idea once they learned more. All the teachers marked fairly and according to the rubrics they provided for assignments. Expectations for specifics of assignments were always clear and easy to understand. My teachers definitely fostered my love of learning and knowledge through their encouragement and own passion of their subjects. Nothing inspires me more than a teacher who loves what they do so badly wants you to understand why they love what they love so much and challenge you to discover that same love. Each of my teachers had an incredible impact on me and my education. I think particularly, Mr. Bell and his history classes really brought history to life by not just teaching facts and figures, but by challenging me to think about the facts as well as the emotions, motivations, and issues that appear from the decisions made in the past. In the same way, Miss Klipp taught me my favourite classes, pushed me to write stronger, better essays, and showed me the utmost importance of empathy when reading, when studying, when interacting with people in my life and people not in my life. She showed me the beauty and wonderful complexities of English and Shakespeare. Mrs. Ike took me under her wing in a sense. She pushed me in creative writing to try new things that were hard and difficult. She inspired me and taught me how to write in new ways. She always had extra time to spend with students like me who wanted to further the things we were doing in class in our personal time. Students coming into CHS should know that you won't be able to leave CHS without a teacher coming alongside you while you study and work, but also leave with you by encouraging you to take on the world in new and innovative ways.

View full review

Liam Tieszen - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)

I loved the teachers. They were supportive in our learning and cared for us. One of my favorite classes was Mr. Peters math class. He joked around with us but taught us so much as well. Mr. Sowden did not have a huge impact on me, but I could see how he impacted others. My respect for these two are very great and I'm glad they were my teachers.

View full review

Emily Alexander - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)

depending on the teacher, their expectations vary. some of my past teachers were really easygoing in their personality but strict in there questions and criteria and others were serious in personality and didn't expect much for work. i don't think that teachers at CHS ask enough of the students. comparing it to my past high school where i was previously at, the workload was cut down by 3/4. i was surprised when i came here the first year and all i had to do was complete a couple textbook assignments for math and i was done. Even though the workload was changed drastically, i still got the highest percentage I've ever gotten in math. its what they cover in the course that really counts. sometimes i'm unaware what my teachers are expecting of me because they don't make themselves clear on what they want to be done on assignments. my teachers talk to us about succeeding and they relate it to Christianity. this is good because they want you to continue on with a christian faith after you leave school but for some people its not relate-able.

View full review

Kyron Hoimyr - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

I was very happy with the teachers (one was my dad so can't say anything to bad). I never considered myself a good student with English nor history but i felt that the instructors were very good and encouraging enabling me to do much better than i could have done anywhere else. I was challenged and pushed to do better in all my classes. Teachers were all very approachable and wanted to make sure you understood the material. Everyone knows math can be a dull subject, but the teacher they had for math was hilarious, he made going to math a delight. A lot of students favorite class was math all due to his teaching. His lessons were clear and the class had a great time due to his since of humor.

View full review

Barbara Potts - Alumnus   (Feb 13, 2018)

The teachers are amazing, very professional and yet truly care about the students and the lives they live. They understand that highschool is no easy task. They do their jobs and do it well, to the best of their abilities. They certainly go above and beyond what other teachers would at another school.

View full review

Cheryl Hepworth - Parent   (Feb 23, 2018)

Before my child attended this school the feed back she would give me about many of the teachers was not positive. Now she loves going to school and never says anything negative about the teachers. I'm very happy with the teachers.

View full review

Rachel Leduc - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

The teaching is amazing here, they expect a lot of you as well as give you lots of work, but they always give reasonable time to do it, as well as being understanding when you have to ask for a time Extension on a project. The teaching is definitely a little quicker than the last school I was in, but it’s actually nice to know that they believe in us and that we can handle it. There are lots of amazing courses to pick from. There is also these courses you can do that are put on by a program called correspondence, which you are able to do the course in your own free time, so during spares or after school, They are intense but so worth it in the end.

View full review

Jaidyn Katzell - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

I think the teachers here ask a fair amount of each student. The work load is even in most classes and teachers expect the same thing from all students. They are very reasonable with the work load but each class piled on top of eachother is a lot of work. When teachers talk about success, I picture passing classes and getting into the field of work that we are aiming for. Also, graduating high school with more credits than needed is what I see when I picture the meaning success from a teacher. At my old school, we were offered “Advanced Math” and “Advanced English” classes which were optional for people who thought that regular classes were slow. I know lots of people in my classes are fast learners and some are really slow. To have an option like this would be great so that teachers can have even expectations for students.

View full review

Latricia Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

The teachers at Caronport High School seem to be very passionate about the subjects they teach. My son enjoys the instructors and the classes at the school. The staff provides parental access to my child's grades, so that we know if there are any issues that need to be addressed.

View full review

Andrea Walker - Parent   (Apr 05, 2018)

The instruction at Caronport High School is of high quality. The teachers are caring and go out of their way to help our son succeed. They know about their subject areas and are generally adept at communicating what their requirements are for assignments. Feed back could be more effective. Our son has received the support that he has needed.

View full review

Vangie Brown - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

We believe that we get our money's worth when it comes to the teaching staff at CHS. We are very happy with the quality of what is taught. The teachers are knowledgeable and provide a wide variety of learning opportunities for our kids. Our children work hard in school and are rewarded with good grades which proves to me that they are being taught concepts well. I appreciated the teachers in Grade 11 (Miss Klip) and 12 (Mrs. Poettcker) who taught my son to write drafts of his papers and gave him feedback after each draft. Mr. Peters and Mrs. Crocker were also mentioned as providing feedback that was helpful. Both my children are challenged in the classroom and the assignments and projects that are given often amaze me in the creative options that are offered.

View full review

Eden Brown - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

Some of our teachers such as Mrs. Crocker, and Mr. Sowden outline extremely well how they want projects done. Mr. Bell on the other hand outline what he wants vaguely and so it makes it extremely hard to study for tests and it makes it very difficult to write essays for him. English is my top subject, yet since he (Mr. Bell) doesn't outline what he wants, I cannot write well or perform well on tests. This ends up giving me a bad mark, and leaving me more confused about writing, instead of actually teaching me to be a better writer. One of our teachers named Mr. Sowden is very good at outlining what will make us successful in his class, where as the other teachers rarely talk out how we can do succeed with them. I wish the teachers would outline specifically how we can improve and what will be important to remember for tests. One of our teachers named Mr. Hoimyr is very good at keeping us ingaged in his class and making the class as exciting and interesting as possible.

View full review

Maia Fawcett - Student   (Jan 31, 2018)

I think our teachers ask enough of us to make it a good challenge but not too hard that it is impossible to complete. Yes I feel that I know what the teacher are expecting of me because they make it really important to emphasize those types of goals. When my teachers talk about success I think know what I'm completely capable of success and it won't be all that hard because they can agree on the plans I have laid down for myself.

View full review

Debbie Jensen - Parent   (Jan 20, 2018)

We were very happy with the quality of instruction. The teachers were passionate about the subjects they taught & were very willing to give extra support & instruction as needed. They learned to think critically rather than be “spoon-fed”.

View full review

LeaAnne Ramer - Parent   (Jan 31, 2018)

I believe that my child is being pushed and taught appropriately. Communication could be more but I'm not too concerned. The teachers are wonderful.

View full review

Jenaya Langman - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

I believe the teachers do a great job of teaching and helping the students to be successful. Teachers are not too hard on the students, but they do care about the students doing well at the same time. The teachers expectations on assignments are outlined and clear and they will help you if you need more clarification. When the teachers talk about success I think they are fair, and realize that everyone is different and cannot achieve the same grades or have the same standards. The teachers want students to try, and to learn and develop skills. Teachers can also work with students towards their individual goals.

View full review

Britten Banerjee - Alumnus   (Jan 24, 2018)

The teaching was very strong in all areas of academia. The teachers were very professional but often kept the relationship between themselves and students very informal. They did inspire learning in many areas. In particular the, now retired, Mr. Reed was especially good at teaching with passion and caring for his students.

View full review

Taylor Doerksen - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

I feel like the school makes college seem more realistic as they work load is a lot more. The school day is also pretty long and they don’t give too much class time for homework or school work so there is a lot of homework. I think they want us all to succeed and they make it clear that doing school work and using class time properly is a way to achieve this. They don’t slack on their students and it makes me also feel more responsible and reliable for my work instead of never having any homework. It gives me a sense of responsibility that I have to do this or I will get marks taken off. It’s a realistic amount of work considering that that’s how it is going to be when we go to university

View full review

Mark Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

Excellent teachers and instruction. Very well prepared for next stage of life and options for challenges with the college being right there.

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.