ZOOM MEETINGS—HAPPENING NOW

Get better perspective on your school choices

Join roundtable discussions over Zoom and hear from the current parents and alumni of schools you’re considering.
Panelists are answering questions and sharing their insights—about their school’s culture, strengths, and weaknesses.

Yes, I want free access 

EVENTS HAPPEN ONLY ONCE—DON’T DELAY

Reviews of Ontario Virtual School — Teaching


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students    
Stephanie Sassi - Alumnus   (Nov 19, 2018)

The teachers i had with this school were fantastic. They were very kind and accepting with every question i had. They would give me extra feedback to try and get me to do the absolute best. They were also extremely passionate about what they taught which i loved because it made me enjoy the stuff i learned about. Having a passionate teacher is one of the most important qualities and this is something all my teachers have had. The teachers I've had went above and beyond in order to help me complete the course within the time limit i had and make sure i was still doing as well as i could in the course. They helped me develop a love for what i was learning about.

View full review

Wajiha Fatima Syeda - Student   (Nov 22, 2018)

At OVS, the major thing I felt teachers were expecting out of students was grasping the material in a way that is applicable practically. I took a grade 12 Physics and English course with Ontario Virtual School and both times I felt that the practical application of things learned was an emphasis. For example, there were many videos provided throughout the course to make students understand the practicality of what we were learning. Especially with the Physics course. I think a big part of this journey with OVS was getting prepared for University. Unlike traditional setting, our teachers expected us to stay self-motivated to finish our work on time even when they were physically absent. If you overcome to this challenge as a student, it can prepare you for a more successful university life where professors do not spoon feed students.

View full review

ricky Randhawa - Student   (Jan 15, 2019)

Not one time did I feel pressure from the teachers at OVS. Both Mr. Lakhani, and Ms. Schmurdok were great. They let me work at my pace. This was a big deal for me because I had just started working at a new job. There was added pressure because it was my final year. The teachers were understanding of this, and it really helped. Both teachers were very helpful when it comes to responding to emails. They responded quickly to all my emails, and helped answer questions. My english teacher really helped me improve my overall writing, and she helped me obtain a great mark. I had a good experience, and I heard nothing but good things about the OVS and the staff.

View full review

Amrit Sandhu - Alumnus   (Jan 16, 2019)

I was happy with the quality of instruction that I received during my time with OVS, the instructors were indeed knowledgeable about the courses they were teaching in. For example, whenever you were stuck with a problem set, they were able to provide valuable feedback without directly giving you the answer. The same would apply for the tests, when marked and if you wanted feedback, you were given an in-depth explanation of your errors and tips for next time. The dynamic between teachers and students was a mix of formality and informality, they were treated as professionals but with a friendly attitude. The instructors did challenge students to do their best, the tests were constructed in a way to thoroughly test knowledge and application about the contents on the course. In doing so, they ensured that the knowledge we gained from the course would be applicable to us in the future.

View full review

Harsh Pall - Alumnus   (Jan 17, 2019)

The teaching at Ontario virtual high school was awesome. The teachers worked with you at your pace and they offered positive feedback. The teachers helped me achieve my personal development goals. They had such a positive impact in my life and because of the way I was taught at this school I’m in university now. The level of respect between the students and the teachers is amazing the teachers give their students the attention and support they need to do good. The teachers at Ontario virtual school actually care about their students and go above and beyond for them.

View full review

Rachel Downard - Alumnus   (May 24, 2019)

The quality of instruction I received surpassed my expectations. The lectures, notes, diagrams and material associated with the course was clear and easy to follow. The layout of the page was professional and made me feel confident in my education. My teacher was passionate and was always willing to go the extra mile to ensure I understood what I was learning. The steps the teacher took to facilitate my learning was the most crucial part of my learning and growth as a student. The material was challenging but with support, I was able to navigate through the course work and felt confident to turn to my teacher when I needed something clarified or explained. The passion the teacher possessed furthered my learning and encouraged me to continue my learning in Biology outside of the classroom.

View full review

Anne Balayboa - Alumnus   (Jan 21, 2020)

The lessons were all pre-made slideshow presentations with the teacher voicing each slide. It was pretty easy to follow along to because I could pause the video at any time. Much better than sitting in a class because I can't rewind what the teacher said. The quality of teaching is great. The teachers are accredited and are very knowledgable about their subjects. I took biology and chemistry and it was obvious that these teachers had a passion for what they were teaching. Whenever I had questions, I would simply e-mail the teacher and they would get back to me within 24-48 hours with detailed responses. I felt respected as a student and I didn't feel like I was bothering the teachers. After each test or assignment, I was given feedback. I was provided with the correct answers and the reasoning for each answer. Same with assignments and labs. After I completed the final exams, I was given a report card by mail and was given overall feedback on my performance which I greatly appreciated. I really liked Mr. Wiebe who helped me through grade 12 chemistry. I could tell he was extremely passionate about teaching and he was very helpful.

View full review

Pvitar Rai - Alumnus   (Mar 25, 2020)

The lessons were all pre-made slideshow presentations with the teacher voicing each slide. It was pretty easy to follow along because I could pause the video at any time. It was much better than sitting in a class because I can't rewind what the teacher said. The quality of teaching is great. The teachers are accredited and are very knowledgable about their subjects. I took Biology and Chemistry and it was obvious that these teachers had a passion for what they were teaching. Whenever I had questions I would simply e-mail the teacher and they would get back to me within 24-48 hours with detailed responses. I felt respected as a student and I didn't feel like I was bothering the teachers. After each test or assignment, I was given feedback. I was provided with the correct answers and the reasoning for each answer. Same with assignments and labs. After I completed the final exams, I was given a report card by mail and was given overall feedback on my performance which I greatly appreciated. I really liked Mr. Wiebe who helped me through grade 12 Chemistry. I could tell he was extremely passionate about teaching and he was very helpful.

View full review

Preet Birdi - Student   (May 22, 2020)

At OVS, their teaching method is very efficient. For example, in grade 12 Kinesiology, all the course content was in the form of a PowerPoint. One thing I really like about this format was how the content wasn't only verbiage but there were videos incorporated within. Additionally, instead of simply studying and learning the content, we applied the information to real-life situations which made learning more impactful whereas in traditional school I wasn't previously exposed to them. This also prepares us for university as we had to stay self-motivated and productive to be successful which is exactly what we have to do in post-graduate life.

View full review

Prabhdeep Kaur - Alumnus   (Aug 06, 2020)

"Teachers are the angels leading their flocks out of the darkness". -Jeannette Walls. OVS has tireless, dedicated and selfless teachers who heed their students and devote them their all. Instructors are not only knowledgeable but are also inspiring. They provide straightforward lectures in the form of slides which can be seen repeatedly and are clear as well as comprehensible. OVS is exceptional for its teachers being passionate to sort out each and every query and develop a positive environment that allows passive learners to step out of their comfort zone and engage in the lessons being taught. In my journey of OVS I truly admire my teacher Ms. Hansen. She provided me with guidance thoughout my course and was always there for help.

View full review

Sarah Finkle - Student   (Oct 06, 2020)

I found the teaching to be excellent. I thought the different activities the teacher set up were unique and allowed for me to explore different aspects of not only the course but the career paths it would take me on. For example we did many different kinds of assignments, one in which we looked at potential job opportunities, another one where we tracked a freight ship. The variety in activities would also allow for students with different strengths to really succeed. I found the work to be on par with a grade 12 course and the material given to be quite engaging from the textbook (though the references are a little out of date) to the slideshows with lots of examples there is something for everyone.

View full review

View all reviews (11) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.