ZOOM MEETINGS—HAPPENING NOW

Get better perspective on your school choices

Join roundtable discussions over Zoom and hear from the current parents and alumni of schools you’re considering.
Panelists are answering questions and sharing their insights—about their school’s culture, strengths, and weaknesses.

Yes, I want free access 

EVENTS HAPPEN ONLY ONCE—DON’T DELAY

Reviews of St. Jude's Academy — Academics


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Andrew Gonzalez - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

St. Jude’s Academy has a very strong academic program. At the time of admission into the school, the admissions officer told me that they review students prior to enrollment into the school to ensure that they will be at a strong academic level while at St. Jude’s. My child has come to me with challenges that he has encountered at school, but the learning support at St. Jude’s has helped him tackle these challenges. I am very pleased with the academic program at St. Jude’s because I am confident that it will help my child be able to succeed when he moves on to university.

View full review

Jenny Chai - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

Our son’s teachers clearly identified areas for improvement and provided great example techniques and tips for helping him improve. These suggested techniques are making it much easier for us to help our son in the areas in which his skills were not as well developed. We also received additional homework to specifically help him in areas of weakness. We were very happily surprised to be given this assistance. In the areas where he is excelling, we feel he is being supported to continue to grow rather than limited to stay within the “limits” of the class.

View full review

Lyne El-Husseini - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

St. Jude's academics program was one of the main reasons I enrolled into the school. The school offers an IB program (International Baccalaureate) that aims to develop a student's inquiry, knowledge, communication, and many other skills so they can become caring young people who are motivated to succeed. The IB programme is different from other curricula because it encourages students of all ages to think critically and challenge assumptions, develop independent thoughts about national systems, incorporate quality practice from research and global community, encourage students of all ages to consider both local and global contexts, and develop multilingual students. The academic system works in a way where everyone recognizes their potential and works hard on improving their strengths and weaknesses. We are always encouraged to give our best performance, and with the support we get at the school, we know we can perform well for the present and also the future, hopefully.

View full review

Orlando Scarlett - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

Throughout my academic career, the general curriculum has been relatively easy for me. When I arrived at St. Jude's, I expected a new challenge, and it was presented to me. The teachers apply what we are learning to the real world which adds many more variables to problems we solve. This increased my interest in school, and I was motivated to do a lot of external research. My personal learning pace is also acknowledged, as I am frequently assigned work above the grade level. Along with this, there is a culture where we as students work together to solve complex problems, and even practice for SATs and AP exams together. I appreciate that very few of our courses are semestered. We take full-year courses which makes it easier to pick up where you left off the following year.

View full review

Farah Ahmad - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)

View full review

Yousra Al Mograbi - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)

St. Jude’s academic level is very high, which was one of the reasons why my parents and I were very interested in the school. They have the IB Programme at the school, and even though grade eleven and twelve did not have the IB Diploma Programme when I joined, however, teachers still incorporated IB teaching methods in class. IB teaches us to be, inquirers, communicators, knowledgeable and much more. Teachers teach in a fun and informative way, with each teacher teaching differently. They take hard concepts and break them down one by one into a fun, hands-on way. This is very useful because teachers show us that the things we are learning now can and will be used in real life. One example of this from physics class: the students were tasked with making an object that will protect an egg from breaking when the physics teacher drops it off the school’s roof. The teacher explained that this is what scientists have to do to ensure that when they are building planes or roller coasters, humans won’t get injured. It’s a fun and new way to connect what we’re learning with real life. Due to our classes being small, teachers can focus on each student individually. This decreases the chances of any student not understanding a concept due to there being too many students in a classroom. The school also provides study hall, where if students need help with anything the teachers allow them to ask questions and make sure that the student understands.

View full review

Rola Abunowara - Parent   (Jan 24, 2018)

SJA is an International Baccalaureate World School, encompassing an advanced and internationally minded academic curriculum. Whether the student is enrolled in the Primary Years Programme, Middle Years Programme, or soon to be Diploma Programme, the educational philosophies mirror those outlined for an IB school. We decided to enroll our children in this curriculum because it emphasizes and instills necessary work ethics, and the essential life skills needed after high school. Students have set courses every day, which include Math, French, Science, English, Gym, and Social Studies. The upper years require additional courses, not included in the regular Ontario curriculum. These include the Theory of Knowledge, where students are taught to question the foundations of information, and a research project in the form of an Extended Essay to be completed in their last year of school. Community service plays a large role at SJA, and this was important for us as a family to teach our kids. We wanted our boys to learn to be responsible and active members of their community, and society; which is another reason we chose St. Jude’s Academy.

View full review

Hazel DeFrancesco - Parent   (Jun 02, 2020)

St. Jude's Academy is an International Baccalaureate (IB) school spanning from JK to Grade 12. This type of education encourages students to develop their learning through inquiry, action, and reflection. What we love about IB is that it encourages the students to be world thinkers and collaborators. It encourages students to see how what we do affects the world around us, not just what is in the classroom. Many of their learnings are done in groups, similar to how they would work in the real world. They have to understand the human dynamic and learn how to communicate with each other. They understand that not everyone works the same way and they have to find ways to use everyone's strengths and minimize their weaknesses. Being able to master these techniques at such a young age ensures my children will be successful in their professional and personal lives.

View full review

View all reviews (8) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.