ZOOM MEETINGS—HAPPENING NOW

Get better perspective on your school choices

Join roundtable discussions over Zoom and hear from the current parents and alumni of schools you’re considering.
Panelists are answering questions and sharing their insights—about their school’s culture, strengths, and weaknesses.

Yes, I want free access 

EVENTS HAPPEN ONLY ONCE—DON’T DELAY

Reviews of St. Jude's Academy — Extracurriculars


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Andrew Gonzalez - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

There are various extra-curriculars offered at St. Jude’s Academy. They range from athletic teams, such as the soccer team, to academic clubs, such as the chess club. The school also offers a fun and engaging after school karate program that my child really enjoys. St. Jude’s Academy also participates in fun competitions such as spelling bee contests and soccer tournaments with other schools around the area. I admire the diversity in clubs that the school offers.

View full review

Jenny Chai - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

Our son has taken part in Karate and a dance program. The teachers of these courses are hired from outside of the school and seem well-qualified and good with the students. Our son did enjoy these classes but did not want to continue; this was almost definitely because he was too young to really partake and didn’t want to attend without us. We will try again when he is a bit older. There seems to be a number of sports teams and other extracurricular activities that we are interested in enrolling our son in, when he is a little older.

View full review

Lyne El-Husseini - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

The school offers a balanced life of both academics and activities. The extracurriculars are encouraged but are not mandatory because it should be a fun and learning experience, not something a student should feel forced to do. A lot of clubs and sports programs are offered. For the upper school, we have Volleyball, Soccer, Basketball, Football, and more sports teams. If someone is more creative than athletic, then they have the option to choose from Wellness Club, Mock Trial, DECA, IB, Yearbook and the Newsletter Club. For the younger kids, they have the opportunity to work on their hobbies like piano practices, yoga, reading, and much more. The extracurricular opportunities are beneficial for improving social skills, developing new interests, and getting out of the everyday routine a student tends to go through.Students at St. Jude's Academy are among the brightest out there. Each one of us has a certain outlook on life and we encourage each other's passions and ambitions. All of us are treated equally and with respect. My younger sister and I both agree that St. Jude’s has one of the most enthusiastic and caring environments out there. Friends are from well-mannered families with backgrounds from all around the world. I have come to understand a lot about other cultures as well as having the opportunity to share my own. Having a small student body makes everyone closer to each other. The students at St. Jude’s will be remembered fondly, even as I move on to University.

View full review

Orlando Scarlett - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

There are several teams and clubs to participate in at St. Jude's. I am a member of the soccer team, DECA chapter, Mock Trial team, and Model UN. Each club and team is effectively led, be it by teacher or student. To me, one of the most important things about extra-curricular activities within the school is that students are not restricted to what the administration offers. We can write proposals for clubs, and start them with the help of teachers. We are encouraged to be very competitive, and we are coached very well. I have had a number of personal successes. We were second place in the Peel Regional Mock Trial tournament last school year, and I was a top 20 finalist at DECA ICDC in Anaheim, California. We are all motivated to become better students, and participating in these activities certainly allows this to happen.

View full review

Farah Ahmad - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)

St. Jude's Academy has a variety of extracurricular activities that every student will be willing to join. Between arts, athletics, law, music, and literature, no field is left out. Students are encouraged to be part of at least one extracurricular activity. As a new immigrant, I was not familiar with most of them, but I was encouraged to challenge myself and became part of many activities. I was co-captain of the Mock Trial team, which made it to the Peel Region Mock Trial Competition to come in second place, overall. I helped to mentor the senior girl's Soccer team, and I was part of the Track and Field team. I also aided in the organization and implementation of The Syrian Refugee Clothes Drive. Lastly, I taught four, six years old children various art techniques in the after school art program. Being part of all of this, helped me develop collaborative skills and learn commitment. Not only that, but it also helped to know about different fields (Law and sports) that I would have never imagined being interested in.

View full review

Yousra Al Mograbi - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)

At St. Jude’s they want to make sure their students are learning but having fun as well. So they have provided extracurricular activities for students to join. Some of the things we have for the upper school include Mock trial, Newsletter, Wellness Club, DECA, etc. For sports, we have Volleyball, Soccer (boys and girls), football and others. For the younger kids, they have piano lessons, yoga, reading and more. These help students improve their social skills, discover new interests, and experience something new and fun.

View full review

Rola Abunowara - Parent   (Jan 24, 2018)

There is no shortage of extracurricular activities to take part in at SJA. Whether students are a part of the band, sports teams, or the school concerts and talent shows, everyone is engaged. The entire elementary student body works together to perform their annual Winter Concert. Parents, friends, and grandparents gather to attend this well-versed show. The volunteers who take part in the Parent Guild plan extraordinary fundraising events, that gather students from all grades.

View full review

Hazel DeFrancesco - Parent   (Jun 02, 2020)

I think St. Jude's is trying to develop a diverse collection of extracurricular activities. I think we need more options for different types of sports activities, not just for the boys, but for the girl's sports teams. Some competitive and some for recreational play. I think the facilities at St. Jude's can be much improved to allow the students to play in proper fields and have the proper equipment available to them.

View full review

View all reviews (8) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.