ZOOM MEETINGS—HAPPENING NOW

Get better perspective on your school choices

Join roundtable discussions over Zoom and hear from the current parents and alumni of schools you’re considering.
Panelists are answering questions and sharing their insights—about their school’s culture, strengths, and weaknesses.

Yes, I want free access 

EVENTS HAPPEN ONLY ONCE—DON’T DELAY

Reviews of St. Jude's Academy — Overall Experience


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Andrew Gonzalez - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

My child has told me that he really enjoys St. Jude’s Academy. I believe that what he likes the most about St. Jude’s is their arts program. From the beginning, students take both French and music classes. I am also very fond of this as speaking both of Canada’s official languages will definitely give my child more self-confidence and opportunities later in life. This is a great advantage compared to public school where students do not even start to learn French until grade 4 and where music is taught to a very limited extent compared to St. Jude's.

View full review

Jenny Chai - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

Our son has just started in Junior Kindergarten at St. Jude’s Academy, and his favorite subjects are French and Music and his main teacher is supported by a number of ‘specialists’ (in physical education, music and French). He clearly benefits from the structure of the program and shows a lot of pride in his learning – he often wants to explain and demonstrate what he’s learned at school. He is a sensitive child and has found the change in his routine (new school, new expectations) a little bit challenging but over the course of his first term, he has developed a good rapport with a few key teachers, made new friends and is now comfortable with his new school and its systems and expectations.

View full review

Lyne El-Husseini - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

My time at St.Jude's Academy has been exceptional. I have been in the school for four months already and there is nothing that I would think of changing in any way! I am beyond grateful to have found such a welcoming and accepting community. I will never forget how quickly I made friends at St. Jude's. People were amiable and understanding from the minute that I walked in. Talking about my fondness of the school won't be enough to convey how deeply I respect and admire it. Being a new member of the school, I wonder about the different opportunities and experiences that I can acquire from it. In four months, I have already developed more confidence, knowledge, and open-mindedness than at any other school I’ve attended in my life. I owe that growth to the supportive teachers and staff as well as the diverse students that have created a secure and safe environment. I am lucky enough to have joined an environment where I am proud to refer to my school-mates as my extended family.

View full review

Orlando Scarlett - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

As soon as I walked through the St. Jude's Academy doors I knew it was a community I wanted to be a part of. I was greeted by a very friendly and welcoming admissions team. My grade 10 academic year taught me a lot about the school, but one thing stood out to me—community. As a K-12 school, the St. Jude's community is very integrated. All members staff and students connect with each other, assisting each other in every way possible. There is also a very diverse and multicultural student population, allowing students to connect and learn about different cultures. I am now in my senior year at St. Jude's Academy and I couldn't be more pleased with my progress since enrolling. The teachers are very well-learned and motivated, giving every student the feeling they genuinely care about his/her education and well being. I have been recognized as an academically gifted student at the schools I attended before I arrived at St. Jude's, and I expected a challenging curriculum. I certainly have not been disappointed here in that regard. The school has equipped me with all the tools I need for the next chapter of my life and I have met several lifelong friends.

View full review

Farah Ahmad - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)

The time I spent at St. Jude's Academy was unforgettable. When I came to St. Jude's Academy I was a newly arrived immigrant from Egypt, where I had a very different educational and cultural background than my friends, and so the fear of not fitting in was quite frightening. However, the very welcoming environment and diverse community of St. Jude's Academy demolished any possibility of being left out in every aspect (Academically and socially). The year that I spent at St. Jude's Academy was one of the best years that I have ever experienced. St. Jude's Academy helped me expand my thinking, recognize my strengths and interests and, lastly, I become a better person. It taught me a lot of valuable lessons that prepared and assisted me in a lot of ways that without, I would have struggled with what life has to offer. Prospective students should expect to find a community that will become their extended family and their second home. They will find caring and supportive teachers, friendships that will last a lifetime, academic excellence, and they will have memories of being part of the SJA family.

View full review

Yousra Al Mograbi - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)

I have never felt so accepted and part of a community before; St. Jude’s Academy has provided that feeling for me! When I first came to the school in grade eleven I was scared about not fitting in and starting at a new school. However, I felt very accepted and welcomed by the warm, smiling faces from teachers and students. I was worried about not being able to catch up to the academic level all the students were already at but the teachers seemed more than happy to help me get there. St. Jude’s has a very diverse, bilingual environment. For a student like me that has never been exposed to such things, it was a very fun learning experience. Walking into the school on the first day of school, I looked around and all the teachers were smiling and saying hello and good morning, asking how I was doing. Students were coming up to me welcoming me to St. Jude’s. I felt like I already belonged. I remember thinking to myself “Why didn’t I come here before?”

View full review

Rola Abunowara - Parent   (Jan 24, 2018)

St. Jude’s Academy encompasses a warm and friendly atmosphere; from the moment you walk through their doors. Two years ago we attended their open house, and immediately we knew this was the school for our children. The diverse and highly-qualified staff are always greeting you with warm-hearted smiles, and are continuously willing to go above and beyond their job descriptions. The morning school-wide assemblies nurture the friendly school environment while challenging the students to do their best through their technique of positive reinforcement, called “house points.” The entire school is divided into three “Houses”, and students are encouraged to achieve points for their house group. Points are attained through good behaviour, aiding fellow schoolmates, and by the ever so exciting “House games,” that both students and teachers take part in. The strong International Baccalaureate curriculum encourages students to be inquisitive, and prepares them for the collaborative nature of the work place. St. Jude’s Academy and its’ staff have instilled a love of learning in my child, making him a lifelong learner.

View full review

Hazel DeFrancesco - Parent   (Jun 02, 2020)

My kids enjoy the small, tight-knit community. Every teacher and faculty member knows them by name and knows who their siblings are in the school. They have made friendships at St. Jude's that will last them a lifetime. The kids enjoy teachers who allow them to express themselves and who listen to their ideas, even if it is different from their own. Encouraging my kids to think for themselves is what I appreciate the most from St. Jude's. The teachers who have really connected with my kids are the ones who look at them not as students, but as human beings that are going to change the world for the better.

View full review

View all reviews (8) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.