ZOOM MEETINGS—HAPPENING NOW

Get better perspective on your school choices

Join roundtable discussions over Zoom and hear from the current parents and alumni of schools you’re considering.
Panelists are answering questions and sharing their insights—about their school’s culture, strengths, and weaknesses.

Yes, I want free access 

EVENTS HAPPEN ONLY ONCE—DON’T DELAY

Reviews of St. Jude's Academy — Students


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Andrew Gonzalez - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

I believe that St. Jude’s Academy has a very friendly atmosphere. I was aware that my child was nervous at the beginning to start at a new school where he did not know anyone, but he made friends very quickly. I would guess that St. Jude’s Academy has a student population of around 400, ranging from JK to Grade 12. I would also say that the students seem to be very nice as I have witnessed, on various occasions, some of the older students helping the younger children. St. Jude’s Academy also has a lot of school spirit. They have various events such as fundraisers and a “spirit week” where the children enjoy the various events that occur. St. Jude’s Academy also has three “house teams”, where they earn points by doing good deeds such as helping a teacher or fellow students.

View full review

Jenny Chai - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

St. Jude’s is a little different from other schools that we had visited in that the upper and lower schools are in the same building. At first this worried us a little as we were unsure of the nature of the interaction between the older and younger students but we have been pleasantly surprised. My son once got lost on the way to the bathroom and an older student found him and made sure that he was returned to his teacher. This is an overall reflection on the nature of the students ; in our experience they all seem helpful, compassionate and empathetic.

View full review

Lyne El-Husseini - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

Students at St. Jude's Academy are among the brightest out there. Each one of us has a certain outlook on life and we encourage each other's passions and ambitions. All of us are treated equally and with respect. My younger sister and I both agree that St. Jude’s has one of the most enthusiastic and caring environments out there. Friends are from well-mannered families with backgrounds from all around the world. I have come to understand a lot about other cultures as well as having the opportunity to share my own. Having a small student body makes everyone closer to each other. The students at St. Jude’s will be remembered fondly, even as I move on to University.

View full review

Orlando Scarlett - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

The student body at St. Jude's is very multi-cultural. We connect with several different backgrounds and cultures. I think this is very important because it teaches us understanding, and how to work together with every culture. Being a small school, we are all friends with each other. We look out for each other and always collaborate to conquer the task at hand. It is almost instantly noticeable that each student believes that he or she is a part of a big family. We always work in groups, and study together. To my knowledge, conflict rarely occurs, and is quickly resolved when one does occur. There is not a typical St. Jude's student. We embrace individuality, and work together to make sure everyone fits in. Everyone is everyone's friend, so bonding with someone

View full review

Farah Ahmad - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)

St. Jude's Academy student body is small (roughly 12-20 students in the grade 9-12 classed). This was very special, as we had greater opportunities to get to know one another personally and develop close-knit relationships. This positive classroom friendship improved our academic performance. The small student body also enhanced teacher-student relationships, as the teachers had much more one-on-one time with the students and were able to truly develop a relationship. It afforded teachers the opportunity to get to know their students personally, as well as academically. These positive relationships between the student and teacher are profoundly meaningful to me and to many other students. The school atmosphere was not a typical boring school day, but instead, it was characterized by a relaxed atmosphere filled with purposeful activities. This atmosphere possessed in a real sense an atmosphere, which makes itself felt in the presence of even a casual visitor. St. Jude's Academy does not have a "typical" student, as we all come from all over the world and each of us has our strengths and weaknesses. However, our school body was very enthusiastic, bright, encouraging and respectful to one another. We all had a connection of heart and mind, so ethnicity, language, origin, socio-economic standing, gender, and sexuality did not affect the respectful treatment of one another. Instead, this diversity brought us closer and made us life time friends.

View full review

Yousra Al Mograbi - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)

The students at St. Jude’s Academy are very kind and smart. They made me feel very welcome when I first came to St. Jude’s, I had many people come up to me and introduce themselves and welcome me to St. Jude’s. As time passed I noticed how everyone encourages everyone to do their best and pushes one another to do their best. The students look out for each other, which is something I have learned to do from the other students here. I met friends from different backgrounds and cultures and that only opened me up to learning about different cultures and different types of people. Everyone at St. Jude’s is unique and expresses their uniqueness differently. Since the upper school is small, all of the students in the upper school know each other, and every single one of them has impacted my life in some aspect. Because of that, it will be really hard to forget my schoolmates, even after I leave for university.

View full review

Rola Abunowara - Parent   (Jan 24, 2018)

The student population at SJA is composed of a large diversity of ethnic backgrounds. This was another feature of the school that my husband and I treasured, as we felt it aided in the enrichment of our children’s educational experience. SJA is a small private school that has roughly 450 students, ranging from Junior Kindergarten to grade 12. The student body is comprised of both Canadian and International students. We found that the families registered at the school had an assorted range of financial backgrounds, and no preference or stigma were given to either end of the spectrum. My son has friends in every grade, mainly because the students are friendly and always willing to play and include everyone. These inclusive attitudes of the children are simply a reflection of the teachings of the school. St. Jude’s Academy is based on integrity and honour. It also values the IB Learner Profile, which are a set of attributes taught to the children and nurtured by the curriculum. These characteristics include being open-minded, caring, principled and balanced. Many members of our extended family have also enrolled their children at SJA after seeing how happy we were after our first year. My son enjoys being able to go to school with new friends, and old cousins.

View full review

Hazel DeFrancesco - Parent   (Jun 02, 2020)

My kids enjoy the small community. They love to see their friends and interact with the teachers. The students are all supportive of each other, whether they are doing a school presentation, participating in Arts night or saying their speeches in front of the whole school. There is never a lack of applause or encouragement from the students and teachers. I think the kids feel they can go to their teachers when they are having issues with school or with other students.

View full review

View all reviews (8) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.