ADVERTISEMENT

Review of The Dragon Academy


Admissions

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
submit a review
Shanti Barclay - Parent   (Mar 29, 2018)
The admissions processed involved an amazing kind of "afternoon tea" with the principle on a beautiful summer day, in her wonderful office on a couch. It did not take long before my husband and I were fully immersed in Dragon life so admitting our next two kids was a breeze.
View full review

Kate Hilton - Parent   (Apr 02, 2018)
The admissions process at the Dragon is less structured and more effective than at larger schools. Parents and students sit down with the principal, and students subsequently visit. Dragon is a small community, and the admissions process is about assessing 'fit'. I left the admissions process with a very clear sense of the mission of the school. I never felt that I had been force-fed a brand, or told what the school wanted to be; I was told exactly what it is: a community of gifted non-conformists. Both of my sons were delighted with their day visit to the Dragon, and I believe that it is absolutely the right way to assess fit. Students who visit will have an accurate picture of what the school is like. There is never an effort to put on a false show for visitors.
View full review

Sebastian Swarney - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)
Applying to the Dragon was a great process. I got to have a tryout day at Dragon where I could see if it was a fit for me and everything around that was smooth when it comes to applying.
View full review

Gideon Scanlon - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)
The admissions involved an interview and some sort of testing, as I recall. I believe the process now involves a test -- though I could not say for sure. I do remember an hour-long conversation designed to gauge me as a fit.
View full review

Benjamin persofsky - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)
Go for a visit. When I first heard about the school I was very skeptical, it was only through meeting the staff and seeing the classes that I was able to understand that it was the right school for me. The Dragon Academy will be the first to admit that it is not the right school for everyone, but if it is right for you it could completely change your life.
View full review

Bret Seifert-Pizzuti - Alumnus   (Apr 07, 2018)
Admissions was easy as the school is small. It was easy to speak to the principal and teachers, sit in on a class etc. The best advice I could give is to sit in on a class, or spend a day there, and see if it is a good fit as the Socratic method is very different from a traditional classroom environment. Based on what I saw prospective students who spent a day there would end up being fairly certain if it was the right school for them.
View full review

Casey Samii - Student   (Apr 07, 2018)
During my visit, I was completely unaware of the fact that the principal of the school was assessing me. I later found out that I was accepted into the school. I was shocked as I was very shy at the time and was very quiet during my visit.
View full review

Leah Walker - Alumnus   (Apr 08, 2018)
The admission process at Dragon, in my experience, was very straightforward. I attended an open house at the school, where my parents and I had the opportunity to speak with Dr. Fox, and then I spent a day at the school with my potential future classmates. I was able to speak with Dr. Fox over the course of that day a great deal, and by the end was able to tell that Dragon was the right fit for me; I filled out a brief application form in the following days. All the staff at Dragon are very open and welcome questions, making it easy for potential students and parents to decide if the school is right for them.
View full review

Tony Itchystitch - Alumnus   (Apr 09, 2018)
I visited the school for a day, as I think anyone should. It will strike you as odd, walking into a school that looks like a house, and meeting a class that feels like a family. I could not have felt more welcome. I met every teacher and had class with a few. The students spoke to me like they knew me. By lunch time, I didn't feel like a visitor. I felt like I was already part of that family. At the end of the day, the principal, who was, and continues to be, one of the most caring and thoughtful people I know, sat down with me to discuss my day, and help me figure out if the school would be a good fit. It didn't take long. It fit me like a glove.
View full review

Randa Higazy - Student   (Apr 12, 2018)
My advice to anyone that is planning on applying for admission at the Dragon Academy is to meet the principal and visit the school for a full school day. Going for a visit made me get a sense of the community, the friendly atmosphere and quality of teaching at Dragon Academy, making me very excited to attend the school and become part of that community. I highly recommend visiting the school for a day for anyone interested in applying. The admission process is very simple - you meet with the school principal so you get to know each other and you fill in the application with questions about yourself. You really just have to be yourself.
View full review

View reviews by topic



Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.