ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of The Dragon Academy — Community


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Shanti Barclay - Parent   (Mar 29, 2018)

Parents play a vital role at Dragon. I do not believe I have ever attended the Dragon without running into other parents. Parents are constantly welcomed to participate in "open houses", the parents' guild and nights out like Indian dinner and the Opera evenings.

View full review

Kate Hilton - Parent   (Apr 02, 2018)

Parents are very welcome at the Dragon, and encouraged to participate in the community. Parent Guild meetings are held regularly, and there are many events where parents are invited to experience the community spirit. As a new parent, I was greeted warmly by other parents and immediately offered opportunities to become involved. At the same time, there is no pressure on parents to devote huge amounts of time to the school. The school runs beautifully without parental intervention, so parents can choose how involved they wish to be, depending on time and inclination. The school is extremely responsive to parents. Teachers and administrators are always open and frank, and willing to strategize with parents. I'm impressed that the creative mindset that is encouraged in the kids is also evident in the school leadership.

View full review

Sebastian Swarney - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

I have kept up with students after leaving the Dragon and I have been back many times after graduating. Parents are always welcome and it really is a friendly community.

View full review

Gideon Scanlon - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

The parents were involved, though, for anyone considering a school for its parental involvement, I might point out that it is not something any student has ever cared about. As the almost best man of a fellow Dragon, it is safe to say the friendship survived, even though the engagement fell apart. As an alumnus, I still see the principal and a few of the teachers on a fairly regular basis, and have coached the model UN team. I still see classmates regularly, despite many of us having moved around the globe.

View full review

Benjamin persofsky - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

Connecting with past students after graduation feels like seeing members of my family. Even when I see the students that I was not the closest with, it feels nice to reminisce over our shared experiences. I try to reach out to people every couple of months, and generally see people from the Dragon Academy four times a year. I feel closer to them than most of my other friends from that age.

View full review

Bret Seifert-Pizzuti - Alumnus   (Apr 07, 2018)

The parent committee was actively involved, and there were frequent school trips. Dr. Fox (The Principal) is an amazing person and many alumni, including myself, stay in touch with her.

View full review

Casey Samii - Student   (Apr 07, 2018)

One will not make a lot of friends at the Dragon, as it is a small school. However, the friends one makes generally are a lot closer.

View full review

Tony Itchystitch - Alumnus   (Apr 09, 2018)

The community was always very motivated. Whatever people were interested in, they were ready to talk about and explore, especially what we didn't understand. Walking through the halls, you'd find artists sharing techniques, math enthusiasts proving formulae and coding, politically minded people having debates, and all teaching each other. The teachers were regularly included in such discussions, and were not afraid to say "I don't know". Communications are always open between the staff and parents, and many parents get involved through the Parents Guild. The Dragon has many school clubs are run by parents, and many events, like the school play, or the Art Cafe, where parents take active roles. While I'm not still in touch with all the alumni, I regularly see/speak to many from my year, whom I consider my best friends. I often visit the Dragon to catch up with all the students and teachers I miss.

View full review

Leah Walker - Alumnus   (Apr 08, 2018)

I think Dragon's community spirit is best shown by the open house events. Many students stay late to help set up, and so many parents come that the building becomes crowded. There was always lots of student work on display--everything from films to art installations to robots, built by the small robotics club. One year while I was there the french class turned a classroom into a French cafe, complete with food, entertainment, and little awnings over the windows outside. There are open mic events, where students can sing, or read their writing aloud. Alumni are encouraged to attend as well. All of this is to say that the Dragon community is engaged and fun, and the students' success is always in the spotlight.

View full review

Randa Higazy - Student   (Apr 12, 2018)

The Dragon Academy is definitely home to me. The Dragon Community is very accepting making everyone feeling included and appreciated. As a new student, I was made to feel welcomed and met many amazing people. You are also always given the support you need by the school leadership.

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.