ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of The Dragon Academy — Extracurriculars


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Shanti Barclay - Parent   (Mar 29, 2018)

Dragon students are really well rounded. They are connected to the JCC, the ROM, the AGO and UofT. There are many clubs like Opera Club. The kids also enjoy going to the JCC to shoot hoops etc. after school. Dragons learn about the cultural and artistic events in our city from world renowned exhibits to obscure art shows of poets. They travel within Ontario (outdoor trip) and to the U.S. The students are empowered to take initiative to create clubs and groups based on what they are interested in (which they do).

View full review

Kate Hilton - Parent   (Apr 02, 2018)

The Dragon has a huge emphasis on community. This means that there are many opportunities for students to come together through clubs and other activities, and find ways to develop their talents beyond the classroom. While there are opportunities for competition, my kids have benefitted from opportunities for collaboration - in the creation of new clubs, for example, or in the arts evenings, or the annual play. The students seem exceptionally well-rounded to me. They graduate as politically aware, engaged, and thoughtful citizens. I expect that this is not the school for parents who want their children to participate in competitive sports teams; the kids are more likely to shoot hoops at the JCC after school. However, this is the perfect school for parents who want their kids to develop lifelong friendships, resilience, intellectual curiosity, and engaged citizenship.

View full review

Gideon Scanlon - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

The principal -- who is lovely -- keeps dubious company: Opera, theatre and ballet company directors. Dragon Academy children are a fixture at the lot. While this can be said for many schools, they very rarely got the backstage tours, the seminars with actors or the guest speakers. As far as school trips are concerned, the Dragon is 'museum-based', which means students should expect to find themselves somewhere interesting at least once a week. There are also other school-organized trips -- from a week in New York to model UNs in Montreal. I am not sure about the overseas thing. Well-rounded is the end goal for all the students. Almost ten years on, I like to believe it stuck.

View full review

Sebastian Swarney - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

Extracurriculars are the one weak point of Dragon. In all there where very few year long extracurriculars or clubs. But I am not one for extracurriculars anyways but I still felt very encouraged and supported in personal projects with teachers always willing to help in something that I was working on independently.

View full review

Benjamin persofsky - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

While the actual extracurriculars at the Dragon Academy were sparse, the supportive student body, and dedicated staff, helped to find something for anyone. For example, I had several friends at the Dragon Academy that were talented soccer players. While the school had no soccer team at the time, they were strongly encouraged to follow their passions, and found other teams that they could join. The school is located in the heart of Toronto, and really uses this to their advantage. There is already so much going on in the city, you just need something to help you find what you are looking for.

View full review

Bret Seifert-Pizzuti - Alumnus   (Apr 07, 2018)

I didn't take part in many as I was living in another city and commuting etc so I may not be the most informative on this. However, I did attend a few enjoyable trips, and heard positive things about school camping trips, trips to the Dominican Republic etc. I would advise looking into what the Dragon currently offers.

View full review

Casey Samii - Student   (Apr 07, 2018)

There are a variety of extracurricular activities . It would be better if there were more science based extracurricular activities.

View full review

Tony Itchystitch - Alumnus   (Apr 09, 2018)

Another drawback with being a small school is that they could not support a great many extracurriculars. There were great options, like model UN, or learning what they do at the labs in OISE. There were certainly enough options for me, but I knew students for whom that was not the case. The existing extracurriculars existed only through incredible effort from the teachers and active parents, and a large amount of student interest. I'm sure that as the school grows, and more parents get involved, this will improve. On top of that, teachers were very supportive of our own independent studies and projects. Some of my friends and I are aspiring game developers, and we relied on a lot of our teachers for help and input when we were coding, designing, and drawing our games.

View full review

Leah Walker - Alumnus   (Apr 08, 2018)

Due to Dragon's smaller size, there is not a surplus of extracurricular opportunities, as you might find at a large public school. However, the ones that are there are all well run and available to all students. I would like to highlight the Scientists in Action program that dragon runs, which periodically brings working researchers into the school (or allows the students to go to their places of work) and lets the students engage with them, after they give a small presentation on their work. They also provide the opportunity for students to volunteer in labs and university research settings, which is a rare and unique experience, as well as one that will stand out to potential employers in the future.

View full review

Randa Higazy - Student   (Apr 12, 2018)

At the Dragon Academy you are able to take part in the school play, Model United Nations, the Oprah club and student government positions. You are also fully supported by the school principal to start your own extracurricular activity, for example, I was able to start my own fundraising campaign called "Adopt an Acre" where I bring awareness to environmental problems such as climate change. I hold fundraisers for the Dragon Academy to adopt an acre of New Brunswick’s Acadian forest to support the work of Community Forests International in renewing and protecting the Acadian forests. This fundraiser is an example of the many things you can start as a Dragon Academy student.

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.