ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of The Dragon Academy — School Life


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Shanti Barclay - Parent   (Mar 29, 2018)

I am completely overwhelmed by how much my three children LOVE Dragon. I suspect Dragon will always be a base camp in life for them. I know past students continue to visit and even work there. My kids are far more intellectual and well spoken. They have a broader perspective on politics. They have learned about art and the ancient worlds. They are more independent. They have left their more superficial friends from public school and created new bonds with other Dragons.

View full review

Kate Hilton - Parent   (Apr 02, 2018)

The Dragon has been a godsend for our family. Both of my boys have found a home where they are understood, intellectually challenged, and surrounded by people who support and care for them. My older son describes having found his tribe, at long last. The energy at the school is palpable. Students are engaged in an incredible range of activities, despite the small size of the school. The students become very close, and identify as "Dragons". It is amazing to see the graduating students talk about how tight the bonds among students are. Bullying is not tolerated at the Dragon. Students who have suffered for being 'different' at other schools find their differences celebrated here. There is a marvellous spirit of collaboration and shared purpose, which is evident at all of the school's public events.

View full review

Sebastian Swarney - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

I enjoyed going to school everyday at Dragon. The overall energy is very passionate and really makes you want to be there.

View full review

Gideon Scanlon - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

Life at the Dragon Academy was lovely. The classes were more than interesting to incite curiosity in students and so the students were willing participants. Socially, it is quite small, and while I always maintained outside friends, the grades were quite tightly knit. I might have preferred a larger social circle, but the school has grown considerably in the past decade, so I am not sure that would still be a concern. While there were quite a few essays, the teachers worked to plan out their assignments in order to prevent stress-inducing pile-ups. I might suggest the school to a family eager to see their child engage in their studies.

View full review

Benjamin persofsky - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

My time at the Dragon Academy were some of the best years of my life. I had extreme autonomy over my studies, and I had a dedication that let me learn and absorb everything I could. I participated in many activities outside of school, and had a busy social life with my friends both from the Dragon Academy and other areas in my life. However, it would have been nice if there were more organized and optional events for the classes to spend time together. I would definitely say the Dragon Academy is not for everyone, but if it sounds like it could be right for you good I would strongly recommend going in for a visit.

View full review

Bret Seifert-Pizzuti - Alumnus   (Apr 07, 2018)

It was a great experience. The academics were enjoyable, the environment was relaxed as students got the support they needed, the students made good friends, and the location made traveling to museums or restaurants easy. The staff went above and beyond in ensuring students had the support they needed academically and personally. The commute downtown wasn't bad and you could go out to many different restaurants during lunch hour.

View full review

Casey Samii - Student   (Apr 07, 2018)

There are no desks in classrooms. Students gather around a table to promote an open discussion. The school recently received a donation of several smart-boards and is constantly upgrading its standards.

View full review

Tony Itchystitch - Alumnus   (Apr 09, 2018)

The school life could not have been better. For the reasons I mentioned, school was exciting. I enjoyed being at school more than being at home. I was surrounded by interesting people and interesting ideas. Outside of class, I could find any quiet, cozy spot to sit and work, or eat lunch with my friends while we discuss how we felt about that art piece, or that math problem, or why my code has errors. I could approach any teacher about an interesting idea or for input on an independent project. When it came to class, I was not often stressed, and it was usually self-induced. Email after email, my teachers always supported me. My friends would say the same. I can't think of anything I would change.

View full review

Leah Walker - Alumnus   (Apr 08, 2018)

I loved attending Dragon, and have spoken about it frequently since graduating. The small class sizes and the teachers' desire to help students succeed really helped me get back on my feet after doing so poorly at my previous school. It is hard to overstate how much my time there meant. I went from being a very shy and slightly awkward artist, to a confident and well rounded student, with interests in all different academic areas, ranging from politics to animation. I felt that the teachers really cared about my interests, and as such I was able to develop them much further than I had previously, and gain back a lot of the confidence I had lost at my previous school.

View full review

Randa Higazy - Student   (Apr 12, 2018)

School life is well-balanced; you are taught how to manage your time efficiently and maintain a work-life balance. I particularly enjoy starting my school day with the morning assemblies done by the principal which draw your attention to ethical and social issues that are going on in the world and stimulate new ways for you to think about the world. Attending my classes throughout the day is also very enjoyable as the classes are thought provoking and improve my understanding of course materials, and I love being constantly challenged and taught how to tackle complex problems.

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.