ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of The Dragon Academy — Teaching


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Shanti Barclay - Parent   (Mar 29, 2018)

The teachers have won my children's hearts.The principle is revered by my children.They have become such academics in the way they speak and problem solve from being exposed to thinkers/teachers who create an environment of thoughtful insight. There are no surprises on report cards. The comments are insightful and helpful.No matter their mark or level of difficulty with certain subjects, my kids have a new found confidence in their own ability to learn new things. They are fully supported by the teachers. They are challenged everyday, especially by the use of the city as a classroom where trips broaden book knowledge.

View full review

Kate Hilton - Parent   (Apr 02, 2018)

The curriculum at the Dragon will satisfy the most curious of minds. There is great flexibility in allowing kids to experiment and follow their interests. The principal and the teaching faculty are all sensitive to the needs of the 'gifted non-conformists' in their charge, and it is amazing to see how kids who have been frustrated in other school settings thrive here. The quality of the teaching is superb. I am very impressed with the level of instruction, and with the complexity of the ideas presented, even in the lower grades. Support is always available for students who are struggling, and I have been grateful for regular communication from teachers at these times. I've also appreciated the willingness of teachers to strategize with me whenever issues arise.

View full review

Sebastian Swarney - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

The teaching is unique and amazing at Dragon. Classes are held around a large table and it really is an open dialogue where students are able to ask questions and have discussions with teachers and each other. The teaching was definitely a highlight at Dragon and is an integral part of the culture.

View full review

Gideon Scanlon - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

The Dragon Academy's academic program is, despite being the antithesis of a 'preppy' school, built to prepare students to be effective undergraduates. The teachers, deceptive beasts that they are, have this trick they use in order to get their classes engaged in the ideas being discussed. They make them interesting.

View full review

Benjamin persofsky - Alumnus   (Apr 04, 2018)

The principle of the school, Dr. Meg Fox, instilled in me a passion for learning to solve problems that I keep with me today. This thirst for knowledge motivates me in all of my action, and gives me a purpose in life "To learn more about the world so that I can make the world a better place". Without the Dragon, I don't know if I would have found this purpose. All staff at the Dragon felt like they respected my opinions, that they were their to teach but also to learn. This was well supplemented by the socratic teaching style and allowed those that wanted to learn to exceed far beyond what we would have been capable of at other schools.

View full review

Bret Seifert-Pizzuti - Alumnus   (Apr 07, 2018)

The teaching methods at the Dragon inspired a love of learning while also preparing me well. The emphasis on internalizing the material as well as critical and constructive analysis/discussions prepared me for university seminars. This point should not be understated as other high schools do not (in my experience) give you those skills. The classroom environment was comfortable and respectful while also being engaging and not full of distractions. Crucially it cultivated an environment where students were not afraid to ask questions and not afraid of being wrong. Lastly, the field trips and ability to explore ideas created an appreciation of why these subjects matter beyond simply being required to study them for a diploma. This enhanced my motivation and enjoyment of learning tremendously.

View full review

Casey Samii - Student   (Apr 07, 2018)

Classes often contain open discussions. Teachers introduce students to new subjects with passion. Teachers are very readily available to help students achieve their desired grade. The communication between teachers and students is great and students do not sink end up being but a transparent member of a large crowd.

View full review

Tony Itchystitch - Alumnus   (Apr 09, 2018)

I have fond memories with every teacher I had. Their passion for knowledge permeated everything and everyone at the Dragon. Class took place around a table, where we could all see each other. Everyone partook in the class discussion and everyone added. Everyone asked questions. When the teachers were ready with answers, they were ready to figure it out with the students. New thought experiments in physics class, new perspectives in history, or new mindsets in philosophy, all of which usually ended with more questions, but always brought us a deeper understanding for the content at hand. The Dragon teachers worked hard to maintain this. They respected every student and heard every voice. They caught every email I could shoot them. I would not have the passion I do today if they hadn't provided that constant support.

View full review

Leah Walker - Alumnus   (Apr 08, 2018)

The Dragon Academy is a very small, close knit community, of which the teachers are an integral part of. They are all extremely knowledgeable in their fields and accessible to students. Since leaving Dragon I have completed a diploma in visual arts and am almost finished my first year of a publishing degree; in both fields I have been more than prepared for all my classes. Additionally, I feel it is important to emphasize that Dragon's unique approach to teaching prepares students for the lecture format of university and college classes. Dragon's heavy focus on class discussion has enabled me to approach lectures with confidence and a level of eloquence that I feel I otherwise would not have had.

View full review

Randa Higazy - Student   (Apr 12, 2018)

The teachers have made my experience at the Dragon Academy a very memorable one. The small-sized classes allow you to form a close relationship with all your teachers. The teachers are thorough in their teaching of concepts and provide you with the abilities to apply your knowledge to complex problems. They have definitely provided me with the necessary foundation to allow me to excel at university. Their passion for their subject makes you look forward to each class, and greatly increases your interest in the subject.

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.