ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Briercrest Christian Academy — Students


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
LOREE BUCK - Parent   (Jan 30, 2018)

I would consider the student body to be small in size. But the group can put on a big school atmosphere with their enthusiasm and level of engagement. There is a caring atmosphere in the school, extending from student to student and student to teacher, along with the teacher to student care. Unlike the high school I attended, one doesn't see hall way fights, or hear name calling or other forms of disrespect in the hallways. When a student in the school is known to be dealing with something like illness or crisis, the somber response is indicative of the care the students have for their fellow student. Even though there are many different teams that a CHS student can be involved in, i believe the greater team atmosphere is taught by the teachers and upheld by the student body.

View full review

Maria Tunall - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

super small town, a greenhouse. a place for intensive growth in all areas - including creativity on the weekends there is nothing to do.

View full review

Liam Tieszen - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)

The atmosphere was nice. Most everyone got along, but some people had some pretty serious flack with others. Overall though I was friends with most people. Sometimes I felt alone but I always had close friends that stuck close by.

View full review

Emily Alexander - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)

the students at CHS are kind and helpful for the most part. when i first came to dorm, everyone was so nice i thought they were hiding something. it was unbelievable to see a lot of students interacting with each other. there's not particularly any big cliques at CHS. you will find that the talkative people talk to the other social people and there are a few people that are quiet that don't speak to anyone. every school has some kind of bully, but in CHS the bullying isn't noticeable in people when they talk to you. its there but only in some places. just like the bad habits kids. the school is really small compared to bigger sized schools. in CHS there is roughly 150 students. it feels like a small town atmosphere indeed.

View full review

Chiante Guretzki - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

The student body of CHS is small compared to other schools. There was probably about 120 students while I was there with 50 of them in grade 12. I've never been to another high school, so I don't know how typical this is, but it was often hard to tell which grade students were in as the grades mingled and mixed quite a lot. Its not uncommon for grade 11s to take grade 12 classes or for grade 9 and 10s to hang out at lunch or in the halls. From my perspective the students are friendly. Everyone knows everyone else and friendships span across the grades. I would say the typical student was glad to be at CHS and was proud of their school, was willing to grow in their faith and was more or less working hard at their classes. I think the student body held to very typical "Canadian" and "Christian" values. Everyone is polite and willing to lend a helping hand, they are generous and spirited for their teams and fellow classmates. We welcomed people into our school and adopted new people quickly into friend groups. There's a variety of students from people who live right in Caronport to people living in dorm from Saskatchewan and Canada as well as a significant range in international students from Asia. In my last year we had a group of First Nations come from their reserve in Ontario to the school and having them as a part of our school was amazing. I don't really know, but I would say most of the students come from middle class families.

View full review

Barbara Potts - Alumnus   (Feb 13, 2018)

Chs is a small school maybe 150 students when I went. This size is good though because students know each other and get along very well. It's a good atmosphere for sure.

View full review

Cheryl Hepworth - Parent   (Feb 23, 2018)

If the town kids were able to bring their lunch to school and sit in the cafeteria with dorm kids I believe there would be a more inclusive atmosphere and not such a segregation.

View full review

Kyron Hoimyr - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)

The student body was small but that was one of Caronport's bonuses. Since the school was smaller just about everyone knew everyone and people were quite friendly. There wasn't the typical high school stigma towards grade nine students. Sport teams didn't have the typical hazing but they encouraged athletes to have a better and healthier relationship with one another. Instead of the younger athletics being scared of the seniors they look up to them and sometimes make long lasting friendships with them. The typical student had a wide range of interests which gave an unique ability for students to connect in a variety of settings. Since the smaller setting of the school enables students to pursue a wide range of things. People have more than one value and due to the nature of the school people are able to pursue them.

View full review

Rachel Leduc - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

The students here are just like all teenagers. There’s bound to be drama no matter where you go, But here it’s different you feel safe, and I definitely didn’t feel as judged coming here. Lots of the students here are very friendly and open minded to new people and want to become your friend. I think that the more outgoing you are the more successful you will be, because you want to try new things, meet new people, go to the school activities. Also when your more outgoing you will make more friends, because your friendly and your inviting. The school atmosphere feels like a town because there is not a lot of kids so when a rumour goes around, everyone hears about it, or even if you do something, the next day everyone’s going to ask you about it, It’s good but bad all at the same time, But still recommend this school 100%

View full review

Latricia Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

Caronport High School is a smaller school than the one our son attended in grades 9 - 11. I think that the smaller class size has helped our son to get to know the other students. The atmosphere of the student body seems to be an inclusive and positive one. The students that we have met appear to be very respectful.

View full review

Andrea Walker - Parent   (Apr 05, 2018)

The size of the school is smaller and it has great school spirit. We have found that this is one area that needs much guidance and work in life skills and how God says to love and treat others. The atmosphere can lean towards the popular students leading the school while the weaker or socially awkward ones are left out. There was much talk about others and words were destructive toward our son in this aspect. Accountability and mentorship in students' actions and words is a high need.

View full review

Vangie Brown - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)

CHS is a Christian school. Not everyone who attends lives like a Christian. As a parent I have seen that different classes have different "feels" to them. I like the "feel" of my daughters class, but the current Grade 12 class concerns me. I think the biggest problem in Caronport is boredom. I think high school kids have nothing to do during the long cold winters and the community has not reached out to meet this need. There is no youth group, no fun place for the young people to "hang out" and interact with adult supervision. I think "The Den" was supposed to meet this need, but somehow it seems that kids are bored and find things to do that are not good. I know that our children have been quite lonely since we moved here. I do not think this is the responsibility of the school. I think it is a community wide problem that needs to be addressed by the churches. My son's honest opinion about his classmates is that he dislikes most of them. My daughter's honest opinion about her classmates is also pretty negative. I am not sure how to take this... whether the problem is that my kids are negative or that their fellow students leave much to be desired.

View full review

Eden Brown - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

There are many really kind and friendly students at the school. This year we got a bunch of new boys from the hockey program and they are respectful and nice. We have students from all over the world, so we get to learn about other cultures on a day to day basis. The kind of students who succeed at this school are the ones who pay attention in class, do assignments on time, and ask questions if they are confused. The teachers are very willing to help the student succeed, but the many students here don't try hard at all. Many students rely on others to work hard for them. The students here are quite welcoming it is not hard to find friends. There is very emotional bullying, and no physical bullying between students.

View full review

Maia Fawcett - Student   (Jan 31, 2018)

The students are where we might be having the most trouble. I know lots of people who are really struggling through the year and who can barely wait to get the year over with. Lots of negative attitude goes around also. It feels like a city because it's pretty crazy and intimidating to be around. Lots of people want to be in charge also which doesn't help all the time. The students who do the best at school are the ones who get past their lives and focus on others. I know lots of people that complain and use very sarcastic times and who are just really struggling and even start experimenting with things because they can get past themselves. But those students who are, are doing amazing and are an encouragement to everyone around them. In the school I think there are many standards to meet and expectations so I don't think absolutely everyone feels included.

View full review

Debbie Jensen - Parent   (Jan 20, 2018)

CHS is a smaller school so the students don’t feel they are just a number. It has a warm, welcoming & caring environment, displayed by both staff & students. I don’t see or perceive any division between students who have different interests, as sometimes happens in other schools (for example where the athletes are the popular students & set a tone of superiority). Generally, I think most students feel accepted or welcome there.

View full review

LeaAnne Ramer - Parent   (Jan 31, 2018)

The student body at CHS is wonderful. Sure it has its ups and downs. Pods of close friends and groups but when push come to shove, this student body stands United and truly have each other a back. Sometimes I wonder if I'm living as a parent with my head in the sand but this student body genuinely appear to care about each other. Maybe it's the smaller size? But they really seem to all get along and accept everyone regardless of differences.

View full review

Jenaya Langman - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

An interesting thing with this school is that although there are students that have attended Caronport schools for years and know each other well (like you may expect in a small town), there are also new students that enter the school. There are general new students like me who come, or there are students that come specifically for the hockey, or international program which gives a cool opportunity to meet people from around the world. Lots of the students that had been there longer reached out to the newer students to get them plugged in to the school and help us to know where to go. On my first day of school a student invited me to eat lunch in a common area with a group of other students. It was very nice to have someone looking out for me, and including me. I was glad to have people to eat lunch with. I feel that in general, new students are looked after well, and looked out for. At this school, your experience is better when you are wanting to learn more and strengthen your faith. Helping students to grow and strengthen their faith is a main goal at this school, so if you are not wanting to do so, you may struggle more, or just have a less meaningful experience as your journey with God is a focus, and there are chapels as well as a Christian Ethics class that everyone must take part in.

View full review

Britten Banerjee - Alumnus   (Jan 24, 2018)

The student body was very small and so you got to know each other very well just by roaming the halls and going to class. The school was also very diverse and had people from all backgrounds. Student life could get clicky as there was often separation between dorm kids and town kids.

View full review

Jaidyn Katzell - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

I would describe Caronport school as a positive environment. The students are generally happy here and since it is a small town, everyone is connected and it feels like one big family. I find here in Caronport that there is more relationship drama. At my old school, there was more drugs and partying drama but here since not many people are involved in that lifestyle, there seems to be more relationship drama here than at my old school. Since Caronport is a christian school, I feel like people who don’t really know Christ or don’t want a relationship with Him, are the students that struggle the most. At the beginning of the year, I didn’t know Christ and I felt left out. Once I came to knwo Christ and want a relationship with him, my grades got better and I became more involved with everyone and everything.

View full review

Taylor Doerksen - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)

The school feels like a cliquey community as there are lots of people who have gone to the school before boarding students so it’s a little harder for boarding students to find a place they belong. It’s more or less like a lot of friend groups instead of everybody including everybody students who try their hardest and do their homework succeed in this school because there are high requirements for us, but still at a reachable level that is attainable. The school feels like a town or smaller since there isn’t very many students at the school. I feel like students who don’t act like they care or don’t try don’t succeed as much as people who do but it’s like that in every school. I think that people who have went to the school longer feel more included but that is too be expected

View full review

Mark Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)

No one is ever left out and there is always something going on or to do for students.

View full review

View all reviews (21) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.