ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Rosthern Junior College — Academics


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Parents   
Crystal Lau - Alumnus   (Sep 26, 2018)

The academic program at RJC is very diverse. There might be a gap between all the students in their academic levels, but since it is a smaller class size, it allows the teachers to work in different speed, according and adjusting with the class. Class materials can get creative, and they aren't all stuck in a classroom! We have a program called ALSO (Alternative learning and service opportunity), which we take the classroom outside of the province/country, travelling to BC/ Manitoba/ Alabama/ Guatemala, to serve and learn from different communities. I thought the way the teachers let us express our Academic ideas creatively, we have structures to follow, but also the freedom to express! I was stuck in the stressful-classroom learning style in Hong Kong, but at RJC, with the different ways of learning, I was not told that I wasn't good enough. I got help to thrive in ways I didn't know I could thrive before, and I was given chances to try things that I normally was told "not allowed".

View full review

Nicole Arnold - Parent   (May 28, 2019)

RJC is leading the way in learning. The teachers are accommodating to the different learning styles of the students. For example, our son is a hands on learner. A few of his projects were building/replicating historical events for his classmates. Our son has made a successful transition from secondary to postsecondary, which I feel that this is due to the high standards that the teachers respectfully expect from the students. The teachers treat the students like young adults. They make themselves available to the students for additional assistance. It is the responsibility of the student to approach the teacher for assistance, exactly like post secondary institutions. RJC has recently renovated their biology and chemistry labs. They have dedicated science teachers for these classes. This is remarkable given the small community that RJC is located in.

View full review

Patrick Laughlin - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

RJC definitely pushes students to do their best. The atmosphere was relatively relaxed which made students more comfortable and willing to ask those questions that can challenge ideas. The students can be competitive academically. But I found the students are far more willing to assist their classmates with their work. I found the student body to be just as supportive as the staff which made for an incredible learning experience. What I enjoyed most was how we would go outside of the school campus to learn about certain events. Especially in native studies and history 30 class. We could go visit the site of the Riel revolution (batoche, gabriel dumont bridge, duck lake),go to waneskewin and learn about native culture, and really immerse ourselves in what we were learning.

View full review

Jordan Wiens - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

The atmosphere is one of learning together, meaning though seeking high grades were encouraged, I never felt overly competitive. I would say the strength of the academic program is its collegiality. I remember helping people out in study hour and class to learn math or biology. As previously mentioned, learning together was emphasized. I felt I could have had better instruction on writing, which I did not develop skills in until later in university, but few people come out of high school with the ability to write well.

View full review

Johann Malan - Parent   (Oct 02, 2018)

RJC has an excellent academic program. We feared that, being a small school, with a small staff, the program would be limited, especially when my daughter wanted to continue with French instruction. We were wrong... The school went out of their way to arrange for online instruction and assistance. I’m constantly amazed at the depth of teaching in all the subjects, as mentioned, with the great emphasis on not just bombarding the students with academic facts, but equipping them with knowledge to apply for life. The school is based on great values and the academic program is designed and tailored to emphasize those life values. With the small classes there is ample time for individual instruction, attention to detail and participatory discussion. In fact, academic participation is a vital strength of the program. Going on to tertiary education, our children were certainly far better equipped than the average.

View full review

Dayna Goerzen - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

The school has quality teachers, especially in math and the sciences. The science teachers were able to make me like science again, and I learned a lot more in English and history than I did in public school because it was taught differently, with a more human touch. I wouldn't have been able to take calculus in public school, but I did at RJC because they made it doable for those that struggled with math. The humanities are excellent at RJC, with many options like art class, concert choir, audition choir, musicals and theatre arts, and more. Students were still competitive if they wanted to be, or others just wanted to graduate which everyone did. I felt appropriately challenged and supported academically, absolutely. Learning is a priority, and they help you accomplish that.

View full review

Matthew Stefaniuk - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

The courses offered by the school are all really well done. What stands out most about the school in how almost the entire student body participates in the choir. Most teenage guys who would not otherwise be interested in such a class are part of it and have fun in the class. All of the other core classes are also taught very well and I felt like I learned more st this school than my previous one. The only downside of rjc is that due to the student body size they can’t offer as wide a range of elective classes.

View full review

Emma Greenwald - Alumnus   (Oct 03, 2018)

The academic schedule allowed two times a day where you would get 30mins to do homework. In the afternoon you could find teachers to ask for help or work with classmates. In the evening study hour allowed for oh to work on group projects or ask classmates for help. I felt extremely supported academically. The academic schedule allowed for plenty of variety, there was many different art classes (art, theatre, choir), as well gym for each grade and then the more scholarly classes. You were in a bible studies class as well, and there was a tech class as well. For grade ten they had wood shop and home ec. The students were generally happy or excited to go to school, and felt calm and encouraged/confident.

View full review

View all reviews (8) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.