ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Rosthern Junior College — School Life


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Parents   
Crystal Lau - Alumnus   (Sep 26, 2018)

I LOVED going to school at RJC, the girls in the dorms just became my sisters, they helped me with fashion tips, we braided each others' hair... Lots of sleepovers on the weekends, that's how we bonded! The dorms are a big part of why I love RJC. The teachers and staff are so caring and loving, that they became my second family. I have always loved visiting RJC since I graduated because this will always be my second home for me. I have always enjoyed our different cultural background, and how we can learn English in an immersion style, living in the dorms! We have a flexible dorm life, so aside from academic stuff, the deans and dorm leaders would organize fun activities for us to do together. They would sometimes organize trips for us to go to the city and have fun, they would care for those that have different cultural background, helping us to feel like home, helping us with our traditions or religions.

View full review

Nicole Arnold - Parent   (May 28, 2019)

Our son's experience at Rosthern Junior College was all encompassing. He received a high quality education in a small town setting that allowed him to exercise his independence and become a mature young adult. There were many weekends that he did not want to come home. He wanted to stay at school to enjoy the activities and friends that were there. He was a part of numerous sport teams, the choir and other extracurricular groups. Our son enjoyed being a part of the community of Rosthern. It is a very welcoming and multicultural town. The school and the community exposed our son to many cultures and traditions. He has close friends around the world.

View full review

Patrick Laughlin - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

I absolutely loved the day to day life. The days were structured enough that there wasn't chaos but left enough free time to enjoy yourself. RJC tried to make the students lives enjoyable with events like guys/girls nights out, Christmas supper, occasionally taking a bunch of students into saskatoon for a few hours on a Friday evening, and giving us the freedom to be normal, fun loving dumb teenagers. I don't know if RJC could do much to improve the quality of life for students. It is just a wonderful place to be. As for advice to perspective students, if you go in open to a bit of change and open to trying new things, you will have a blast.

View full review

Jordan Wiens - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

I found school life to be busy. Perhaps not as busy as life after high school, but certainly much busier than being a farm student and being unable to participate in many extracurricular activities. I really enjoyed going to school there. I really enjoyed the friends I made there as well as the sense of home. I don't know how RJC can improve the lives of students there now, as it seems to be a slightly different place than when I attended, but I think the approach and philosophy of the school aided the quality of life in the fact that it isn't unnecessarily overbearing. It also seeks to provide a conversation when one is needed to create an open dialogue.

View full review

Dayna Goerzen - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

I absolutely loved going here. I chose to go to RJC, and had a great time. Student life is filled with fun and memory making. I was bored and didn't have much of a social life before RJC. I loved having roommates in the dorms and hanging out with my friends all the time. Other students also were generally very happy here too. Life has it's ups and downs but that's what the community is for. The deans in the dorms take great care of you, and you also learn a lot of independence, which prepared me for the real world. I loved that the teachers cared about me and my success enough to help me get there. I loved that I could study with my peers to do better in my classes. I loved the chances I got at fun and extracurricular activities. Overall, it was the best decision I ever made.

View full review

Johann Malan - Parent   (Oct 02, 2018)

Our daughter, the last of our three children (and that put a smile on some teachers’ faces), became more and more apprehensive, as the registration day drew closer. In fact, on our way there, she started protesting seriously (putting it mildly), lamenting the loss of her friends from the previous year and uncertain about being away from home. Her tears moved me, I have to admit. We expected a rather protracted and slow integration and assimilation into her new school and surroundings. Well, that lasted all of half a day, before she changed her mind and became fully immersed, just like her brothers before her. More seriously, our three children have very different personalities and we expected, in certain situations, that they might experience some conflict and stress. The supporting and nurturing atmosphere, however, negated or minimized potential pitfalls. The staff does an amazing job of keeping a keen eye on everyone, ironing out problems and communicating with the parents. The quality of “student life” of RJC students, I dare say, is far better than most students in other schools!

View full review

Matthew Stefaniuk - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

The quality of student life is really high, I loved my time at the school and it provided me with many opportunities that I would not have and could not have anywhere else. When you put a bunch of guys in a door together they are bound to find ways to have fun and experiment in trying to find the limits of what they can do. The school did a wonderful job letting us explore and find that line while still protecting us and fostering an environment where mistakes are acceptable. Students are often very happy with their situation and with the exception of the end of the school year, when it get incredibly busy at rjc, most students go through the year without ever having overwhelming levels of stress.

View full review

Emma Greenwald - Alumnus   (Oct 03, 2018)

I enjoyed every minute of RJC. They had many events that were fun. The ALSO trip was the highlight of my school year, I learnt many things down in Alabama. A lot of the students were passionate about something, and were driven for success. They require you to join a club, and each year in April you take a trip somewhere to volunteer. There is choirs to join, theater to join and many sports teams. These all look good on resume and on college applications. There is deans in the dorm, that are there to help you with anything you need, and the teachers are always there to listen about academics or your personal life. Each member of the staff was helpful, and like another parent to me. This improved my time at RJC as I did not feel alone and never had to deal with anything alone.

View full review

View all reviews (8) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.