ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews of Rosthern Junior College — Students


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Parents   
Crystal Lau - Alumnus   (Sep 26, 2018)

RJC students have a high spirit and a sense of pride to be an RJC student. I have always bragged about how going to RJC was the best 3 years of my life, I have made life long friends, I have bonded with everyone quickly, and since it is such a small size school, you really cut out the "in groups" and allowing everyone to bond and know each other. High school is hard, in general, with all the teenagers' hormones, but RJC made it that much better. We have a diverse background of students: including traditional Meonnite students who have been growing up with a church family, including students from a different religious background, or students that don't even know what religion is! We have students coming from all over the world, including local town students, students from different cities in Canada, students from different countries like myself, I am from Hong Kong. There are students from Germany, Switzerland, China, Japan, Korea, Mexico, Taiwan, India and many more!

View full review

Nicole Arnold - Parent   (May 28, 2019)

One of the school programs is called Belong. The dorm / community councils do an incredible job of welcoming all new students at the beginning of the year. The school has multiple theme days and retreats through the school year to create deep and lasting friendships between the students. It appears to me that almost every student at Rosthern Junior College participates in multiple teams and clubs. It also appears to me that when a team, club or choir is performing, that the remainder of the student body is there to cheer and show support regardless of location. We had the wonderful opportunity to host a few international students over the weekend and holidays. After three years, our son and his friends referred to each other as brothers.

View full review

Patrick Laughlin - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

The student body becomes much more than people you go to school with. As a student, the other students become like family. It really didn't matter where you came from. Whether it be Canada, Hong Kong, Mexico, Columbia, it Switzerland. The first day, everyone starts with a blank slate and we get the opportunity to know people for who they are. Because of everyone essentially starting with a blank slate, there doesn't tend to be a lot of tension between students. For prospective students, my advice would be, stay open. These are people you will remember for the rest of your life and will share many incredible experiences with.

View full review

Jordan Wiens - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

The student body was small, but very involved and intermingled. It very much reminds me of Stuart McClean's Vinyl Cafe whose slogan is "we may not be big, but we're small." Being small means it is easy to be involved and easy to get to know others at the school. The typical student would be involved in one or two extracurriculars with a full course load. I would say the qualities that garner respect in the willingness to be involved and the willingness to be yourself, or at least to try and find out who you are. While students come from many backgrounds, the most common is a Mennonite heritage, which is unsurprising given the Mennonite roots of the school. While RJC is a religious school, there are many students who do not affiliate with a religion and is by no means a prerequisite for attending.

View full review

Dayna Goerzen - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

The student body size is smaller which is awesome, having around 70-80 (give or take) students from grades 10-12. My grad class was smaller as well, which made for really close friendships and a great sense of community. It helped too that then we all helped each other with academics as well as life stuff. There is still a range of students that attend RJC. There are those that it's family tradition to attend, those that are super excited for everything, those that just want to lay low and get through high school, those that like gaming, those that like sports or theatre and more. Everyone can find something they like at RJC. The "typical" student though would be willing to try new things, because that's a huge part of first off moving into dorms for school as well as the spirit of how RJC does things (there's lots of opportunities to do new things). Mostly everyone participates in the fun events because that's the 'norm'. Most students are Christian or were at least willing to learn about Christianity, but you don't have to be Christian to attend RJC or even to fit in. Everyone is welcome! Most students got along with mostly everyone (but of course there are conflicts here and there). There's a wide range of ethnicities that attend RJC too which is great.

View full review

Johann Malan - Parent   (Oct 02, 2018)

The fact that the school is small, lends itself to a personal and intimate experience. There is no way that any student can just disappear in the masses, as is the case in many/most of the larger schools. Everyone has a role to play and everyone is an important link in the chain. There is a lot of emphasis on participation in actiyans the staff go out of their way to involve everyone. Because of the caring and intimate atmosphere, students find it easy to “be a part of the family” in a non-threatening and non-intimidating manner...just like at home. The special bond between students stands out as something unique and really special and that continues to ripple out in the larger school, parent and alumni family. Students who spend such a large proportion of their time together in such a positive and caring atmosphere, build a foundation based on enduring values for the rest of their lives.

View full review

Matthew Stefaniuk - Alumnus   (Oct 02, 2018)

Rjc has a smaller student body, in and around 80 students currently. For most students at rjc this actually ends up being a good thing because it forces you to talk to other kids that maybe you wouldn’t have if there were more students that were more like you at the school. Just because it’s a Christian school doesn’t mean the students must be, there is a wide range of different beliefs and everyone is accepted and allowed to believe what they will. While most students developed a circle of friends they most often spend time with there is no feeling that a student can’t cross circles and talk to anyone they want to.

View full review

Emma Greenwald - Alumnus   (Oct 03, 2018)

I would say half of the student body if not more had previous family members who had gone to the school. Most of the students had come from different schools throughout the province. They came to RJC so they could get away from bullying, and be themselves. The students were unique and came from all backgrounds; there was international students, students from poor and rich and middle class families, there were students of all ethnic backgrounds etc. There was only 75 students in the whole school, around 55 people lived in the dorms. The student body was welcoming, friendly and sincere. All students were driven and filled with hopes and dreams for a better future for themselves and society. The students all created close bonds with each other.

View full review

View all reviews (8) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

Disclaimer: Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. See Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2019 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.
You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.
Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.