DEAR READER:

Are you looking to choose a school?

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence. Start now and receive:

  • Exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, alumni, and other school insiders
  • Step-by-step guidance, informed by our 23 years of helping families improve the quality of their research
  • Insights from current parents about what they wish they had known before choosing a school

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

DEAR READER: Are you choosing a school for September 2021?

Get exclusive access to meetings with admissions officers, current parents, and alumni. Learn what other parents wish they had known before choosing a school.

Admissions Pathway helps you research schools in-depth so you can choose a school with confidence.

Starts September 21, 2020. Space is limited, don't miss out.

Yes, I want free access

Reviews of B.E.N. School-House — Academics


Submit a Review

All reviews    Parents   
Heather Savazzi - Parent   (Jun 13, 2019)

As stated above, the small group size and wholistic approach to curriculum and programming at The B.E.N. was one of the things that drew us to the school. The teachers have a respectful approach that supports the needs of each individual student, helping them to develop strengths and goals academically and socially/emotionally. The B.E.N. provides a supportive learning environment that truly considers their strengths, challenges, and goals of each child within the context of the whole school community. We have seen the power of providing students with this kind of environment, and engaging learning opportunities, and had the pleasure of watching students make incredible leaps and bounds in their level of focus and academic ability. We could always trust that our kids were engaged in programming that was both respectful and challenging.

View full review

Danielle Saint-Onge - Parent   (Jun 13, 2019)

The B.E.N embraces a whole child approach that supports encouraging children through areas of strength and moving with their interests to develop academic materials that reflect their interests and motivations. There was one period in time where our son developed a deep attachment to bunnies and insects and the teaching staff developed a long range art project connected to gardening and bunny making that engaged all of the students but also allowed my son's interests to be heard and validated. Our daughter deeply connected to the visual art aspects of the school and developed her self regulation and mindfulness skills through regular opportunities to express herself through visual arts. Both of our kids enjoyed the numeracy component of their time in the kindergarten program and developed very good number sense skills through creative and hands on approaches to mathematics instruction.

View full review

Gina Vaccaro - Parent   (Jun 13, 2019)

The B.E.N. does not cultivate a demanding academic culture. As is evident in their motto - they are looking to cultivate active learners who love to learn. It's not about the grade, it's about the effort and preparation that it takes to be successful, and fostering habits or ways of thinking that lead to success and happiness. My daughters left the B.E.N. and entered a Catholic school. My eldest finished grade 6 at the B.E.N. and we had to move them both because we couldn't do the travel logistics to get them to two separate schools. My younger daughter entered grade 2. Both of them made transitions into the public system in a way that was better than I had ever anticipated. They are both at the top of their classes now - and are involved in many extracurricular activities like Leadership groups, mental health groups, sports, etc. They both also had powerful reflections on the positive skills what they were able to take from the B.E.N., and how happy they were to go to school. This happiness translated into their next step in life, and let them take it with energy and excitement - both key to being successful.

View full review

Eli Ham - Parent   (Jun 13, 2019)

One of the most powerful parts of the teaching philosophy at the BEN is the aspect of 'Vitamins'. They are, in short, human qualities or character traits such as, Honour, Adaptability, Manners, Concentration, Expansion (there are 28 in all). These are not necessarily curriculum related though we feel and see in the students there a movement towards greater self awareness and confidence. This helps the students with 'how' to be in the world and not just 'what' to know about it. Confident students are more likely to remain curious and interested in learning, willing to make mistakes and be resilient. Our daughter is 5 and is reading on her own now and we feel that the support to pursue her passions has led to this accelerated ability in this area.

View full review

Sarah Dulmage - Parent   (Jul 11, 2019)

I definitely feel the BEN has helped to prepare my son academically. I have no concerns in this regard, as the instruction is very high quality. The lesson plans are grounded in a highly rigorous pedagogy that nurtures each child's unique characteristics and strengths while ensuring the development of key skills and abilities that all children require to be in the world and at school in particular. In addition to the main school curriculum that is taught at the BEN, the children learn to follow the everyday routines and are taught to be respectful, helpful, kind to one another, good listeners, caring towards their friends, and curious about the world and all of its wonders. The ratio of children to teachers is consistently small, which allows for focused attention on each child.

View full review

View all reviews (5) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.