Trinity College School logo

Reviews of Trinity College School

Port Hope, ON  |  Grades 5 - 12  |  Shortlist

 

Topic: School Life

Leslie Gibson - Parent   (May 04, 2022)

Both of our sons' experiences at TCS have been undeniably incredible. Trinity has played such an important part in their lives and our family feels so fortunate that they have been able to attend such a special school for their formative high school years. What they have valued most is the sense of community that TCS provides. They have established wonderful friendships with students locally as well as from countries around the world. They have also developed meaningful relationships with teachers, coaches and residential staff. Testimony to their love of the school is the fact that they rarely want to come back home on open weekends. TCS keeps the students very busy during the day through their academic programming, athletics, service, evening study and opportunities for socialization.

Arundel Gibson - Parent   (Mar 30, 2022)

I'm writing this review as an alumnae of TCS and as a parent of three current students. As one of the first girls at TCS, I made lifelong friendships, succeeded academically, and benefitted from the sports, arts and community service programs offered by the school. Let's not forget I met my husband at TCS! Fast forward thirty years (!) and our three boys are in boarding (Bickle House, Brent House and Bethune House) and loving every minute! The pandemic has been challenging but TCS adapted right away and has done its best to keep the students engaged while adhering to the local Public Health mandates. We regularly see photos of the boys with their friends on the TCS Instagram/Flikr accounts, which is nice because they are clearly having too much fun to send photos to Mum & Dad!

Jeanette M Lane - Parent   (Mar 10, 2022)

There are so many things to list but the sense of community, levels of support, service opportunities and extracurriculars would land at the top. I have had two children graduate and one who is about to graduate and the school met all their unique needs from the Jr. School all through the Sr. School. The academic demands are well balanced to sports, arts and service. The international community of the students has been a spotlight for our kids and our family because of friendships made that would otherwise never have happened. It is a very inclusive school community that made all three of my unique children feel welcome. Service trips would likely land at the top of the best memories or experiences my children reflect on.

Susan Zhang - Parent   (Mar 10, 2022)

Our daughter Lily and we all feel that school is her home. She loves school and has studied here for five years from Grade 9 to grade 12. TCS gives her a lot of care, she got the right values, understands the truth of life. In grade 8, we accompanied her for one year, and she knew the school very well and liked it very much. In that year, we participated in many school activities, such as Christmas Eve, the whole junior high school had a concert, and for example, the children participated in the drama, we watched on the spot, that year, left us a very good impression. Unfortunately, due to the epidemic in the next two years, the school did not have the graduation ceremony, and many sports activities could not be carried out normally. The badminton match she just liked was stopped midway.

Charisse Lee - Alumnus   (Mar 10, 2022)

My experience at TCS was excellent! I loved the community especially the houses because it really felt like a family away from home. TCS definitely prepared me well for going into university because of the amount of independence we were given. Boarding made living in university residence a lot less intimidating, and the TCS schedules were somewhat similar to university ones as well. The overall transition was very smooth which is something I am grateful about. A new student enrolling into TCS should expect to be surrounded by people that are all very willing to offer you help. There are so many different kinds of people you feel encouraged to go to when you need something and that was definitely my favorite thing about TCS.

Kim McConnell - Parent   (Mar 08, 2021)

Overall Trinity was a great experience for my daughter. The friendships that she has developed are amazing. Each and every one of her friends has taken different paths in their life since high school, but yet they still find the time to check-in and catch up with each other regularly. When I asked my daughter what were her favourite experiences at Trinity, she said in her final year doing the winter play, Arsenic and Old Lace and a service trip to Ghana, Africa with Mr. and Mrs. Hall. As a parent, I see that my daughter has developed great time management and organizational skills. The long academic day and a busy extracurricular program, adding to the daily commute have taught her to use her time wisely. This is a skill that has helped her tremendously to establish a balanced busy life in university.

Erica Brown - Parent   (Mar 08, 2021)

Since walking on the campus at Trinity College School, our children have had outstanding student experiences... even during the COVID pandemic. Our son is in his second academic year at Trinity College School, and he really appreciates the variety of academic challenges, plus the variety of extracurricular activities. These include many clubs, sports teams, academic team challenges, international travel for academic classes, community service clubs, stewardship options and the list goes on. Our daughter is in her first academic year at Trinity College School. She too appreciates the variety of academic choices and extracurricular activities. TCS ensures that students have the opportunity to succeed at balancing a busy and robust schedule, creating a full and well-rounded student experience. However, during COVID, each child has been disappointed about the restrictions on participating in these many wonderful opportunities that create the full student experience.

Candace Pickering - Parent   (Mar 08, 2021)

I have twin boys in the Junior School at TCS. They started at TCS in Grade 7, coming from a wonderful public school. As a parent, I worried about the transition but from day one, my kids have loved TCS. What my sons appreciate the most about Trinity College School is how much they feel "seen" by the staff. This is accomplished by smaller class sizes, dedicated homeroom time, open discussions with all the children about their interests, pastimes, vacation plans, etc. My sons are very sporty and love the unique daily schedule which allows for multiple recesses, gym class and co-curriculars (intramural activities). They will often come very proud to report how many hours they spent outdoors in a day. It is wonderful to balance class time with outdoor time.

Jocelyn Murphy - Alumnus   (Jan 26, 2018)

My time at Trinity was so special. I spent four years there in both day and boarding programs, and I am so grateful for that opportunity. Beyond academic rigour and stellar athletics and arts programs, I'll never forget my first day of grade 9, looking up in Osler Hall and seeing some forty flags hanging from the ceiling. Around me was this incredible mini United Nations of kids and I felt like the luckiest person in the world. My exposure at such a young age to a diverse, multi-cultural, multi-lingual student body taught me understanding and compassion and opened my heart to the beauty of our differences. To that end, if I am to answer whether or not I feel that the school prepared me well for my life's next steps - that I currently work in humanitarian diplomacy among the 'real' United Nations in some of the most challenging countries in the world should be evidence enough. Prospective students should expect to find a community that will become their extended family. They'll find caring teachers and coaches, unlikely friendships that will span a lifetime and the most beautiful campus in Ontario.

Benjamin Glassco - Alumnus   (Jan 25, 2018)

"Beate Mundo Corde": Blessed are the pure in heart. Adorned on the school's crest and displayed on the gates as you enter the grounds, truer words could not be said about the people of Trinity College School. Throughout my life as a young adult, I have consistently described my high school years as some of the best in my life. This was not because of my age, my friends, or my family, but from my school. What truly stands out at TCS, is the definition of "cool" seems to have been redefined at there. Whereas many high school experiences are commonly peppered with stressful social hierarchies, bullying encounters, and alcohol experimentation, TCS offers somewhat of the opposite. Perhaps because of it's more remote location in the charming town of Port Hope, TCS has developed it's own unique society. There, the most idolized students were not those with good looks, elitist tendencies, or natural athleticism, but were the ones with the most genuinely pure hearts. This was demonstrated by being friends to the community, volunteering, being kind to others, discipline in academia, leadership in sports, and passion in the fine arts. These trends fostered a community like no other, where holding open doors, mentoring younger students, and generally being “good" was revered above all else.

Mariam Omilabu - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)

Being at Trinity College school is like moving away from home, feeling terrified and lost, then gradually finding your way to realize that you actually like this new found home. I can honestly say that I enjoy myself here, it's packed with challenges that are strengthening as you overcome them. One thing I wish I had known about the school before I arrived was the actual activities they had in store for the new students that were aimed at making them feel comfortable in the new school. In my opinion, it was quite overwhelming as I felt thrust into a new world with hundreds of people I did not know and I had to find a way of socializing with them during all the games (and even mud pit activities) planned. I feel that if I had known what would have been done prior to the actual events I would have been able to mentally prepare myself. On the other hand, other people loved that element of surprise, so it goes either way for people. If there was one other thing I could change about my school, it would be to have more study space as we only have two hours of a work period called "study" in which we must complete a large amount of work given.


More about Trinity College School

Request a package from: Trinity College School
Student Info:

Contact me by:      

Special request:

Our Kids

This contact form is brought to you by Our Kids – The Trusted Source for thousands of families since 1998.

}
logo
Trinity College School Reviews



By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2022 All right reserved.