Our Kids 20th logo

Review of Briercrest Christian Academy


Overall Experience

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
submit a review
LOREE BUCK - Parent   (Jan 30, 2018)
The atmosphere at CHS is one of caring for the whole person of the student. The teachers are not just ramming the curriculum through, but really wanting the students to enjoy the learning process and feel cared for as individuals. Sometimes, the caring seemed to feel smothering, depending on which of our four kids you would talk to. The girls soaked up the personal interaction that was available with their teachers. Our son is less inclined to get personal. One of our daughters was injured in a car accident in the fall of one year, and ALL of her teachers in the first and second term took extra measures to accommodate her - one even gave up hours of his personal time to teach her one on one, so that she didn't fall behind. Our son suffers from migraine headaches - he never feels like his teachers are unsympathetic, but rather are wanting to help him understand the causes and how to avoid them if possible. I am frequently asked if he is stressed over something that they can help him with...they care about the long term not just when the students are with them. The level of encouragement that our kids received to try out new things and the appreciation of their achievements from the staff and faculty of CHS was amazing.
View full review

Chiante Guretzki - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)
My experience at CHS was absolutely wonderful. Everything from the quality of the education to the passion of the teachers to the intensity of the spiritual formation helped to make my high school years some of the best of my life. Looking back, Caronport High School would be nothing if not for the teachers and staff. Each teacher genuinely wants to teach and wants to help their students succeed. They act as teachers but also as mentors and coaches, prayer warriors and friends. That deep level of love from each and every teacher is the thing that stands out most in my mind about CHS. As is such, the teachers are what I most enjoyed about CHS because they made everything else about the school and academics that much better. If I were to change anything, it would be the Christian Ethics classes very specifically. Compared to the academic vigor of the other classes and the challenging chapels, CE fell short. I don't think the CE classes push students to really think about faith and God the way the other classes push its students to think about history or science or math. I feel very prepared for life because of CHS. My transition into college caused very little stress as CHS had already taught me the mechanics of writing essays, doing research, and to critically think about things like literature which put me a head of a lot of my classmates when it came time to write papers and tests. A prospective student should expect to work hard and be challenged intellectually and spiritually, but should also expect to be taken care of in all aspects of life from academic to emotional to spiritual.
View full review

Britten Banerjee - Alumnus   (Jan 24, 2018)
A very strong school academically and develops strong sense of community. Often promoting community events and challenging their students. Felt the school prepared me well in terms of ability to engage with university level education but not in terms of life skills.
View full review

Maria Tunall - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)
i would absolutely love a student lounge, the study center isn’t great if you just want to hang out. the girls washroom could also be bigger,
View full review

Liam Tieszen - Alumnus   (Feb 23, 2018)
Caronport Highschool was a great experience for me. I was homeschooled from K-10 and going to CHS was a good transition. It offered good education from caring teachers, and offered a lot of extra curricular activities. My favorite memory at CHS was being on the worship team for my grade 11 year. I made great friends that were amazing musicians. Even though its a Christian highscool, I feel it didn't prepare me for the questions others would ask. My spiritual life wasn't excelled but was rather dulled. I was disappointed in seeing a lot of other students not living a Christian life. I talked to many students about why they came and they were forced by their parents. I feel as though the application process needs to change
View full review

Emily Alexander - Student   (Jan 24, 2018)
at CHS its a really wonderful atmosphere. the teachers are kind and care about your well being and education. they are willing to help you if you have troubles. the christian environment helps alot too. having a background of Christ in the community really helps you to feel included when you get there. if i could change something about the school it would be the strict dining schedule. they feed you well in the cafeteria but sometimes the high school kids get whats left from when the college kids ate before. overall, living in the dorm was a great experience. i wish someone would have told me that we would have to put covinent eyes on all of our electronics. in the dorm they did it to monitor activity on students devices but the program crashed my devices so i had it taken off. other than that, it was awesome at CHS.
View full review

Kyron Hoimyr - Alumnus   (Jan 23, 2018)
I loved my time at Caronport High School. I came into the school at the start of grade nine and I really wanted to hate it. Going to this school was not part of my plan, I had intended on hating the school, then after my grade 9 year go to the school I had wanted to attend in the first place. Then I graduated in 2012. Safe to say things did not go the way i had planned/ My time here was unreal. Basketball tournaments, football games, Sadie Hawkins Skate are some of my best memories from this place. It has been over 5 years since I graduated, but these memories are remembered fondly and friends I made here are still some of best friends to this day.
View full review

Barbara Potts - Alumnus   (Feb 13, 2018)
The time spent with God is amazing. Through chapels, Christian Ethics, and other events like these students really get to dig into the word od God. They decipher what's truth and what's not. And life long friends are made here which is a huge bonus. Nothing really prepares you for what life can throw your way but if you lean on God like taught at CHS then you're golden.
View full review

Cheryl Hepworth - Parent   (Feb 23, 2018)
My Daughter really appreciates the teachers and staff. She finds them kind and willing to help. She is enjoying the classes she is taking and finds them adequate in challenging her capabilities. One thing she finds disappointing is that she lives in town and would take her lunch to school but she is not allowed to bring outside food into the cafeteria. She is finding it hard to get to know the people who stay in the dorm and finds that it segregates the dorm kids from the town kids. She finds it puts a wedge in between the kids because lunch is a social time and a great way to get to know people.
View full review

Jaidyn Katzell - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)
Caronport High School is a very safe and healthy environment. I love the energy of students and the support of staff. I wish I would know more about dorming life. When I took a tour, the tour guide didn’t know much about the rules of dorm or how the system really worked. I wish I could have known what the environment of dorming was like before I moved in. If I could change one thing about my school, it would be to not take 10% off of late assignments each day that it’s late. Sometimes life gets in the way and teachers don’t give enough time to finish projects since the semester is crammed into a shorter time period of months. I would also change the system they have for unexcused absences. I know some people who have missed a class on purpose and have not gotten into trouble at all. At my old school, if we missed a class then we would have to give up a lunch period and spend it in “study hall” which is detention for your lunch break. Over all, I really enjoy attending this school and it is VERY positive and has helped me a lot to become a better person and more mature in my own without my parents here.
View full review

Rachel Leduc - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)
Caronport High School, totally changed my life for the better, I love it here. The environment is unique, It’s peacefully and safe feeling, You can do you, without feeling like your being judged 24/7. There’s definitely a tough workload but the teachers are always there to help, They actually want to see you succeed. that was one of the things that I found most refreshing here. One of the things that helped my choose Caronport High School is that it’s a Christian school, I love how no matter what class we are in, we are talking about God, I love it. We are not being judged by our beliefs and Values here, I am happy that we get to freely Praise our Lord Jesus Christ here.
View full review

Latricia Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)
Our son has truly enjoyed his senior year at Caronport High School! The classes are challenging. The teachers are exceptional! He has had the opportunity to take a college class as well. Our son played on the football team and is on the intramural hockey team. He also lives in the dorms. This has helped him to make new friends and engage in activities that he enjoys. Caronport High School offers many opportunities for students during the after-school hours such as attending athletic events, dances, and the Cheesecake Café to name a few. Caronport is a very small town without a lot of amenities, but the city of Moose Jaw is only a short drive away.
View full review

Andrea Walker - Parent   (Apr 05, 2018)
He has enjoyed many classes while attending CHS. The teacher and staff support has been helpful and beneficial in speaking into his life. What he has enjoyed most is the school activities such as ski trips, being on the football team and going on an educational trip to Italy and Greece. He has found the social aspect of high school and sometimes how it is handled disappointing. Although he has mainly been heard, his sense of belonging was not filled. He has greatly appreciated his teachers' support in and outside of the classroom. He also is looking forward to doing his work experience in a field that interests him.
View full review

Vangie Brown - Parent   (Jan 23, 2018)
We are very grateful that our children get to go to CHS!! My husband and I are very happy with the school, even though things have not always been easy for our high school children, we are convinced that this has been the very best place for them to struggle and learn and grow. I have two children in high school. My daughter appreciates the teachers the most. She could not think of anything that is disappointing to her. My son appreciates the academic challenge and willingness of teachers to help him through hard times, he finds his fellow students sometimes the most frustrating. He has greatly appreciated the opportunity to play on sports teams. The coaches of the teams he has been a part of have impacted him greatly because they have challenged him to grow in character, they have encouraged him, and they have believed in him. The coaches at CHS deserve gold medals!
View full review

Eden Brown - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)
At Caronport High School the students are friendly. The teachers are always willing to help with any questions. The teachers like to get to know you on a personal level, and they take time to ask how you are doing. There are quiet and comfy places to study. There is enough structure to keep things in order, but there is still a lot of freedom with assignments, and how class time is used. Also if your in grade 12 you can take a college course. Our school has a lot of sports to offer, even a hockey academy, and a provincial winning volleyball tournament. The coaches push you hard so you can improve, but they still care about you. Another great thing is that the teachers are very understanding, if you talk to them and tell them your behind in class.
View full review

Maia Fawcett - Student   (Jan 31, 2018)
I really like caronport high school. I have many encouraging peers like my friends and also my teachers. One thing that I wish could be changed is the how many cliques and groups around that have inside jokes and such. It's not very fun being outside of them and I would have noticed throughout our school quite a bit. I wish I knew how trusting the teachers are when I arrived. Because they were so nice but I was too scared to talk to them much because of random reasons. One thing I would like to see change in my school would be the L.I.T's that we have to write every month or more. I don't know a single student who likes them and I also don't know a teacher who does. I'm sure they could find some other way to collect data on our skills than making us write LIT's.
View full review

Jenaya Langman - Student   (Jan 23, 2018)
Caronport Christian High School is a great school where growing in your faith and relationship with God and friendships are important. This shows in the way the school is ran as well as through the ways the staff treat and interact with students so positively. One thing I would have liked to know before was the emphasis on sports and how not being involved in sports or living in town will change how quickly you make stronger friendships. I am not saying this would have been a make or break point, but at least something to consider in my situation. I would like to have more opportunities at the beginning of the year to get to know students while doing something fun. Near the beginning of the year there was a trip for the grade 12 students, but I am not in that grade, so I would have like to have more opportunities at the beginning of the year to get to know my peers in a setting other than school. At this school there is a unique class schedule as it sometimes changes for events such as a pep rally near the beginning of the year. This year, on Fridays, the school day ends a few hours early which is really nice for people going away on weekends, or just to enjoy being done earlier and heading into the weekend. There are also three semesters which I think is neat to go along with the college. The semesters are September-December. January-April, and May-June. I really like this as first semester I was done my first set of classes before the Christmas break, and had no school work assigned over the holidays, whereas at others schools including my previous one, I didn't write exams until the end of January.
View full review

Debbie Jensen - Parent   (Jan 20, 2018)
They thought the teachers were very invested in seeing them succeed both in & out of the classroom. They loved the athletic & musical opportunities & the interactions with college students who shared the same campus.
View full review

LeaAnne Ramer - Parent   (Jan 31, 2018)
My child has loved his experience at CHS. He has a sense of belonging, and continues to grow in confidence. He appreciates the chapel program and the teachers who genuinely care about him as an individual.
View full review

Taylor Doerksen - Student   (Feb 13, 2018)
I wish I knew that I could take classes of the grade level above because then I wouldn’t have to tal so many classes in grade twelve. It’s really nice that we can chang our classes easily and they mark everybody fairly. I wish there was more space for fitness as the Center in the rink is pretty small but still pretty nice. I wish the cafeteria served healthier food for athletes and people in general instead of so many carbs. Is super hard to eat healthy there because he food is all carbs and the vegetables aren’t very fresh. The coaching is super good, better than what I had before. There is lots of variety for sports and extra curricular activities because the funding is pretty good for those sorts of things I would imagine.
View full review

Mark Johnson - Parent   (Feb 05, 2018)
My son enjoys the small class sizes and wide range of class options.
View full review

View reviews by topic