ZOOM MEETINGS—HAPPENING NOW

Get better perspective on your school choices

Join roundtable discussions over Zoom and hear from the current parents and alumni of schools you’re considering.
Panelists are answering questions and sharing their insights—about their school’s culture, strengths, and weaknesses.

Yes, I want free access 

EVENTS HAPPEN ONLY ONCE—DON’T DELAY

Reviews of Nancy Campbell Academy — Academics


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Walquiria Francato - Parent   (Nov 06, 2019)

Nancy Campbell Academy's academic program is complete and has many hours of selfless service. In terms of curriculum, it meets the highest standards of education. The school's strengths are, as I mentioned earlier, the curriculum and the importance Nancy Campbell Academy places on the broad and thorough education of our children is priceless. About the weaknesses, although I wouldn't classify it as being exactly a weak point, it is the city where the school is located that is hard to reach for out-of-town students because it only has one arrival and departure time from a train, but at the same time the city is beautiful, charming, and one of the tourist spots famous for its culture and arts. Therefore, I believe that these requirements compensate for the location in the interior of the state. The academic atmosphere is one of the points that in my opinion classify Nancy Campbell, as the best educational institution in the country. Because everyone is encouraged to share an atmosphere of unity, friendship, respect and equity. I am convinced that the Nancy Campbell Academy academic program will adequately prepare my daughter, because I consider this school an academic extension of the best values I have ever sought to teach my children, and this is invaluable to my daughter's future.

View full review

Angela Zhang - Parent   (Nov 19, 2019)

Nancy Campbell Academy has the required academic curriculum as do other schools in the community, but with more understanding so the student does not feel as pressured. Students succeed because learning is meaningful. The unique part of the curriculum is all the students take WCC (World Citizenship Course). The course considerably broadens students' visions and equips them with global perspectives. Students are inspired to get out of their comfort zone to participate in the discussions of solving global issues. Students in Grade 11 have the opportunity to take a 2-week service trip in a foreign country with the mission of spreading global peace through performances of arts. My daughter learned a lot from the course and the service trip and now she feels ready to be a world citizen. 南希坎贝尔为学生提供地区所需要的所有课程,但此外,该学校提供各级学生特殊课程WCC(世界公民课程),世界公民课程大大开阔了学生眼界,提高学生世界观,鼓励学生走出自己的舒适圈,参与世界问题的探讨。11年级的学生还有2周社会实践课程,到国外用艺术表演传递世界和平。我女儿从世界公民课程中学了不少。

View full review

Gabriel Quinn - Alumnus   (Nov 06, 2019)

The strengths of Nancy Campbell's academic program is in its flexibility. A student can often consult with a teacher in creating an alternative way to satisfy the unit's criteria if they are struggling to relate or engage with the mainstream project. This can create a culture of unique presentations, and often artistic approaches to a project. Another strength is in the willingness of the school to offer help. The weakness of the academics at Nancy Campbell is, in my opinion, a result of the nature of boarding school. Without a parent present, the student might struggle to identify a weakness and instead of being forced to ask for help and try a little harder, they might ignore their struggle and turn away from it because they have that option. The academic attitude of the student body varies greatly from year to year because of its small size, and the constant introduction of new students who may bring a positive, or negative impact on the environment. I know in my year, my circle of friends strived for excellence. The experience is very much dependant on the individual.

View full review

Tara Sohanaky - Student   (Nov 19, 2019)

What we are learning is not too easy and it is not hard to the point that you do not understand a thing. It challenges you to work and study, but if you put time and study you are going to succeed in your classes. What you are learning in class is what the Ministry of Education provides. But the good thing about Nancy Campbell is that they teach you more than academic stuff. They teach you life lessons and spirituality. What they reach and the way they teach it is going to be helpful to you for the rest of your life.

View full review

Hugo Francato - Parent   (Jan 21, 2020)

I don't think that the main goal of Nancy Campbell Academy is to prepare the children for next steps. Instead, they want to prepare them for life! The atmosphere of friendship, and more, of a family is essential to this. They want each student to reach their full potential. In order to do it, the classes are almost individual and the students are pushed always to do better. You can see it as they have a 95% rate of acceptance in universities. The closest weakness that I can think is that students receive so much special treatment from the staff and the teachers, that they may miss it in university. But even in regard to this matter, right from the start, they are encouraged to think by themselves, to have initiative and be self-sufficient.

View full review

Nivia Dyal - Student   (Feb 26, 2020)

I would not say the work is easy or hard. We need to still put our mind to it and be a hard worker. Though it is set up in a way to make students understand what they're learning, and when they finish they have a wide capacity of knowledge in their work. The classes I have taken, I passed and I still know and remember what I learned. This is how I was able to help other students because I was familiar with the work and have an understanding. What I learned here will definitely help me in life too. Not only work but having to manage school and outside activities prepped me to do that. Nancy Campbell does not pack their students with lots of homework and projects only. They are flexible and also teach kids to manage time and academics. We can still have fun and study while easily passing our examinations. I am a different learner and the teachers would take time off giving us extra time helping me with extra tutoring. They see potential in students that don't see their own potential and this is what I needed. I'm glad I completed high school so I won't have to be questioning myself in university.

View full review

Jennifer Crawford - Parent   (Aug 07, 2020)

We feel that the combination of excellence towards education and the philosophy to be a change maker in your community are essential for every individual. Having compared grade 9 in the public and private sector, we feel the dedication of the staff at Nancy Campbell to its students will instill in them the ability to succeed in their next phase of life. Our personal philosophy is that each individual can make be a change maker but must gain these skills through their parents, community members and education. Nancy Campbell is amazing at supporting the students to work towards excellence - the attitude that each student is excellent and the teachers support their learning in a positive and encouraging environment. We are so amazed at the dedication of the teachers to assist the students.

View full review

Sherry Brown - Parent   (Aug 07, 2020)

One of the greatest academic strengths at Nancy Campbell Academy is the knowledge of the teachers combined with small class sizes and a culture that encourages academic engagement, dialogue and getting outside of ones comfort zone in order to more fully develop. As a testament to the academic excellence at Nancy Campbell Academy, our daughter has taken 2 college level class at a local U.S. College this summer, the year between her Gr. 9 and 10 year. She is in a class with students who all have high school diplomas and is currently holding an average above 90% and is among the top students in her class. Without the culture cultivated by Nancy Campbell Academy encouraging students to push themselves and her peers supporting the academic excellence of all students I do not know if she would have taken this leap. Our daughter wishes to pursue a career in medicine and we have no doubt that she will be will prepared for this by her education and development at Nancy Campbell Academy.

View full review

Lorelei Brown - Student   (Aug 07, 2020)

As far as academics there were some units that I found very challenging, some that were easy and most were just right. The teachers are able to individualize the curriculum since it is such a small school so for units I already had a good amount of knowledge in they were able to adjust the lessons/assignments so I was still challenged. For units that I struggled with I was able to attend office hours and get the help I needed in order to learn. My teachers know I would like to be a physician and they are helping me identify the subjects and skills I will need to achieve my goal and are supporting me along the way. My RA also helps me with homework if I am stuck, which is really nice since I live in residence.

View full review

David Ryan - Parent   (Aug 07, 2020)

Our daughter - while struggling to overcome learning disabilities - was well-positioned for success at NCA due to a culture of inclusion. No student was left to feel alone or without guidance. When problems arose, teachers and faculty worked diligently to find the appropriate academic solution and through consultation with appropriate agencies, we were able to ensure her success in the academic year. Our daughter arrived at school with a previous individual learning plan and with appropriate consultation and adjustments to fit the academic requirements, her transition to a new school went as well as it possibly could have. All teachers were aware of her limitations (and strengths) and always sought to bring out the best in her attempts to meet the academic standards.

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.