ZOOM MEETINGS—HAPPENING NOW

Get better perspective on your school choices

Join roundtable discussions over Zoom and hear from the current parents and alumni of schools you’re considering.
Panelists are answering questions and sharing their insights—about their school’s culture, strengths, and weaknesses.

Yes, I want free access 

EVENTS HAPPEN ONLY ONCE—DON’T DELAY

Reviews of Nancy Campbell Academy — Community


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Walquiria Francato - Parent   (Nov 06, 2019)

What stands out about the wider community at Nancy Campbell Academy, in addition to what I've already said, is the concern they demonstrate for the society in which they operate. As a result, they charge students for a larger, more selfless service schedule than we usually see in other school curricula. Parents are not only welcome to be involved in school life, but they feel essential in this process because the school values family interaction and recognizes the sacrifice each family makes to send our children to be in their care and under their academic responsibility. I think they work on this in the right way, giving freedom to our children, but within a protection placed by limits that are, in my opinion, pillars for a good education.

View full review

Gabriel Quinn - Alumnus   (Nov 06, 2019)

The strongest aspect of Nancy Campbell is its community. I made some of my best friends at the school, who are a very strong part of my life today, despite most of us living in different countries now. Because the school is a boarding school, you grow very close to your peers. You don't often meet their parents if they are from another country, but occasionally parents have come and were so welcome in the school, often hosting a cultural event/meal for the students. When all the parents come for graduation, it is a very emotional time for the students, to meet everyone's families. The alumni presence is very very strong at Nancy Campbell, the seniors are often involved as role models for the younger grades and often come back to the school to teach workshops and come to their graduations. It's a bit of a tradition for alumni to come back for the next graduation, to support the class after them, and to see each other.

View full review

Tara Sohanaky - Student   (Nov 19, 2019)

The school does feel like home after a while. It took me only two weeks to get comfortable at the school. Especially because I’m an international student and everything was new for me, you’re spending your whole time around these people and this place. When I first went to Nancy Campbell I thought by the end of the year no one would know me or even my name, but by the end of the year I made a strong bond with everyone in school. Everyone is included in everything as long as they want to be. They will make you feel welcomed and comfortable. It is a happy and warm community that appreciates unity in diversity. Overall I found my second family at Nancy Campbell Academy.

View full review

Angela Zhang - Parent   (Nov 19, 2019)

Parents' cooperation is important in education at Nancy Campbell Academy. Parents are very welcome to attend daily assembly sessions and some other school activities, from which they can gain direct and clearer ideas about what the school is doing and its priorities at the moment. In addition, parents can make use of the social opportunities to communicate with the teachers and other parents. l met many parents who offered their time and efforts to make contributions. Some prepared ethnic food for students to taste and some helped with decorations for special events encouraging students to experience the cultural diversity. l believe with more enthusiastic parents' involvements, the school will be more lively and students will have more passion to learn and perform. 家长的配合至关重要。在南希坎贝尔,家长们经常被邀请参加每日一次的师生集会和其他的学校活动。家长们从中可以更直接了解学校的进展以及关注点。此外,家长可以借此机会与学校老师和其他家长沟通。许多热心家长贡献时间和精力为学校助阵。有些为孩子准备异国风情小吃,有的为庆祝特殊活动装饰,鼓励学生体验不同文化。我相信,越多家长的参与,会使学校更有生机,有助学生的学习和发挥。

View full review

Hugo Francato - Parent   (Jan 21, 2020)

We attended a barbecue before classes started. But most of the parents live in another country, so we are informed online usually. If you live in Canada, there will be a lot of opportunities for parental involvement. But even far away, I always know whats she is studying, where she is going, and what extracurricular stuff she is doing. Sometimes it is hard for us, because our daughter is only 14, but I think the internet made it a lot easier. There is a baha'í writing that says "The earth is one country and human beings are its citizens". And this is one of the school's principles. So even with parents from all over the world, we can feel always connected with the school and our kids.

View full review

Nivia Dyal - Student   (Feb 26, 2020)

Nancy Campbell is very much like a home to me. It's a home because I dont have to walk in being stressed and have to fear a certain student or teacher. Everyone is so kind. If I'm having a bad day someone notices and eventually by the ending of the day it is better. I also would feel free to talk to a mentor and the teachers are good at making students feel like a person. We live in happiness here and there's not a day I can be sad around my folks. The positivity here remains. Everyone here is just included in everything and this is what makes us family. We support each other whether we don't know what someone's going through.

View full review

Jennifer Crawford - Parent   (Aug 07, 2020)

Nancy Campbell has done a wonderful job of assisting the students to find ways to be involved in local community activities. Stratford itself is a theater town and its fitting that the school is heavily involved in music and dance for its yearly grade 11 service project. The students had many opportunities to volunteer in the local community, participate in local initiatives for the environment or promoting unity - the school did an amazing job at finding opportunities for the students to be part of the local community. We were impressed the first weekend we visited our daughter to see how well she had come to know what was happening, were the best places to eat were and of course who had the best ice cream.

View full review

Sherry Brown - Parent   (Aug 07, 2020)

I have found the staff, administration etc to be be very welcoming of parental involvement in many forms. As an international boarding school this involvement takes many forms with different families but the school allows parents to be involved in the manner which feels right and works for them. Stratford in a lovely small town in Ontario, Canada is easy to navigate and allows the students to participate in many community-based activities. Students are also provided a bus pass as well as a membership to the local YMCA. The bus pass and YMCA pass allow students to participate in things such as going to the local mall, visit coffee shops, restaurant and take classes or work out at the YMCA.

View full review

Lorelei Brown - Student   (Aug 07, 2020)

School definitely feels like home. There are so many people that care about me, many people here to help me, and do things with or to explore the town with. I really miss school and cannot wait until it starts back in-person! There is a lot of diversity in my school and everyone is welcome and included. I also really like that everyone gets their own room in the residence so I can create my space exactly how I want it! I really like that I have been able to both teach other students things and learn form other students as I feel it helps to create a bond. We also do a retreat each semester (Wild Fire) which is outdoor education center that helps us get to know each other and bond.

View full review

David Ryan - Parent   (Aug 07, 2020)

We have spent a fair bit of time consulting with the school with regards to our daughters development as a student but more importantly as a member of society. The school has been very open to frank and loving consultation with us about all aspects of her life away from family. They have become her community and I feel she is in capable and safe hands. The broader community has also engaged the students in providing potential places away from school to visit and socialize in a structured and safe environment. My sister lives fairly close to the school in an adjacent town and has felt very welcome when visiting the school. Having extended family somewhere close has had a positive effect on our daughters development as well.

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.