ZOOM MEETINGS—HAPPENING NOW

Get better perspective on your school choices

Join roundtable discussions over Zoom and hear from the current parents and alumni of schools you’re considering.
Panelists are answering questions and sharing their insights—about their school’s culture, strengths, and weaknesses.

Yes, I want free access 

EVENTS HAPPEN ONLY ONCE—DON’T DELAY

Reviews of Nancy Campbell Academy — School Life


Submit a Review

All reviews    Alumni     Students     Parents   
Walquiria Francato - Parent   (Nov 06, 2019)

My daughter loves studying at Nancy Campbell Academy, but since we live in Brazil and our country in relation to Canada is much lower in salary values, our biggest concern is that we would like to keep her there throughout high school, but we don't know if this will be possible. However, even having the possibility of sending her to this school, so dear to our hearts, even if it's only for a single school year, is a very big blessing. We will be eternally grateful, as a family, for the welcome, for the affection, for the solidarity, for the welcome and for the happiness that this educational institution has given to our daughter.

View full review

Angela Zhang - Parent   (Nov 19, 2019)

My daughter loved her school life at Nancy Campbell Academy, and even now she can still clearly recall the exciting days she had. During the three school years, she enjoyed the student-friendly atmosphere and followed the dynamic pace set at the school. She grew in so many ways. She grew to respect the talented teachers and make great friends from different foreign countries. She also appreciated the transformation the school helped her to achieve from a shy girl to a confident young lady. Nancy Campbell did provide her with the wings to soar. The most important of all, my daughter now is a happy and grateful person, and like most of the graduates from the school, she has the motivation to learn and explore. 我女儿喜欢南希坎贝尔,至今还能清楚回忆她的高中学习生涯。 令她难忘的是学校友好的氛围和有生机的节奏,有天赋的老师们和来自各国的好友。她非常感激学校让她从沉默寡言变成活泼自信的女生。 最重要的是如今我女儿是一位快乐和感恩的人,与其他南希毕业生一样,爱学习和探索。

View full review

Gabriel Quinn - Alumnus   (Nov 06, 2019)

The school life is very standard to a boarding school experience. The food they offer for meals is diverse and nutritious. The accommodations allow you to have your own room to work and have time for yourself. the building itself isn't very big and easy to navigate, so you can most often find who/what you're looking for. The school has highspeed wifi, a gymnasium that's often open for casual use, the art room is also often available after school, there are classrooms for the use of student council meetings, and a full multimedia studio/recording studio which is a new addition that was not there at the time when I was attending (but I have been back to visit and can attest to its positive impact on the creative options that the students have). The usual state of the student body is being joyful. A young person's life is always going to have difficulties and challenges, which is why it is so unique for a student body to show as much joy as the students of Nancy Campbell do. There is stress during exam times, but that's natural. The majority of the students were very passionate. If they were not, it was likely not the fault of the school, but of the student's general attitude towards life (many students completely transformed into positive joyful people out of going to Nancy Campbell, myself included).

View full review

Tara Sohanaky - Student   (Nov 19, 2019)

I would probably take them to the third floor. Third floor is the place the classrooms are. They put two large couches there. My friends and I used to go there whenever we had a break and I would always sleep on the couches for a little while or even study for my exams. Another place that we spent a lot of our time was the gym. Usually during break time- students put on music and have fun. Another one of my favorite rooms is the art room. Art is my passion and I spent a lot of time time there. The teachers will let you use the art supplies there for free and you have a whole room to do what you want as long as you keep it clean.

View full review

Hugo Francato - Parent   (Jan 21, 2020)

My daughter lives in a residence provided by the school. She has a space good enough for her, with a sink, a small fridge, a bed and a desk for a computer. It is full of rules, but she had to learn to live on her own. For me this is excellent! Before she went, I saw her as a child. Now she is a grown-up girl. About the school, she loves it. Her life is the school, she is very focused and involved in her studies. She is very glad that she now knows people from all over the world and she is always surrounded by these new friends, inside or outside school. If you have the chance, try to watch some of the videos that Nancy Campbell posts on Facebook and Instagram, and you'll see how proud these students are.

View full review

Nivia Dyal - Student   (Feb 26, 2020)

If I were to give a tour to a group of visitors I would first take them to the media room. This room has everything from what we have done in school in the past year. It has memories of the old students, coffee houses, showcases, etc that would wow an outsider. I would be able to show them what our school does and they will be inspired by the pictures and videos. The media room best captures our moments. Also, every study knows a little about media so it is always open. Whether it's a project or not - we are allowed to make our own memories with equipment, which allows us to bond more because of the arts we do that make us closer. It's an amazing room this is why I love hanging out in there. Thanks to our cool Mr Rushdy that made this amazing room for us to capture our childhood and high school days.

View full review

Jennifer Crawford - Parent   (Aug 07, 2020)

Our daughter misses her Nancy Campbell family, she longs for the school to resume. She often talks of the love and support she received from her fellow students. Living in a residence builds resilience in the youth to be independent and take care of themselves while having a dorm parent to assist them if necessary. The independence of taking the local bus for travel helped them get to know their surroundings and is a life skill while travelling aboard. Meals together provided opportunity to talk and make plans for the weekend projects. We were amazed at how independent our daughter after the pandemic closed down the school. The skills she learned in those short months were incredible - we would send our other two if we could.

View full review

Sherry Brown - Parent   (Aug 07, 2020)

My daughter has found the resident advisors to provide good guidance and appropriate supervision (as well as help with homework and general life stresses as they arrive!). She also has multiple dietary allergies and the school took the time to not only learn about these and ensure that her needs were met they are open to feedback about preferred foods/ brands since she is not able to eat some of the "typical" foods. This may sound trivial but it was and is huge in her feeling like "normal" kid who can fit in with her peers. We also appreciate the town of Stratford, Ontario while it is a very safe and quaint town it is ripe with history and culture as the home of the world famous Stratford Festival. It is also only about 30 min form London, Ontario and 1.5 hours form Toronto, Ontario so the students can experience the richness of these places without being subject to the challenges they would pose by living there full time.

View full review

Lorelei Brown - Student   (Aug 07, 2020)

If I was giving a tour I would show the group the classrooms which are bright and full of natural light and the gym/auditorium where we have our daily meeting/assembly. This is where we come together as a community each day. I would also take them to Mr. Rushidy's class where our students create professional quality videos, music etc. I think the most important part is to meet our students and teachers as they are the ones who truly make this place special. The building is beautiful but the real asset is the people and to see the quaint town of Stratford, ON. I feel very safe at school and in the entire town. I really like that there are so many places to eat and things to do. We are also home to the world famous Stratford Festival and people come form all over the world to see the theater performances.

View full review

David Ryan - Parent   (Aug 07, 2020)

We, as parents, sometime forget that our 15 year old daughter is her own person, trying to find her path in life. She is so engaged with her school and classmates that coming home for breaks and in this trying year of COVID having to finish her classes online, was as difficult as leaving home in the first place. She loves her school, her classmates and yes, even her teachers. Her first experience living away from us in a residential living environment has been a success, the dorm parents have been wonderful and caring. They always show a desire to see that our daughter is in a safe and loving space. The introduction of uniforms has been a positive experience as well, no worries about trends and peer pressure.

View full review

View all reviews (10) View reviews by type View reviews by topic



Our Kids The Trusted Source
Our Kids The Trusted Source

By logging in or creating an account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Information presented on this page may be paid advertising provided by the advertisers [schools/camps/programs] and is not warranted or guaranteed by OurKids.net or its associated websites. By using this website, creating or logging into an Our Kids account, you agree to Our Kids' Terms and Conditions. Please also see our Privacy Policy. Our Kids ™ © 2020 All right reserved.

Sign up to receive our exclusive eNews twice a month.

You can withdraw consent by unsubscribing anytime.

Name
Email
verification image, type it in the box
Our Kids From Our Kids, Canada’s trusted source for private schools, camps, and extracurriculars.